You are here

Archived: Castle Park

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 16 July 2014
Date of Publication: 12 August 2014
Inspection Report published 12 August 2014 PDF | 63.75 KB

Before people are given any examination, care, treatment or support, they should be asked if they agree to it (outcome 2)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Where they are able, give valid consent to the examination, care, treatment and support they receive.
  • Understand and know how to change any decisions about examination, care, treatment and support that has been previously agreed.
  • Can be confident that their human rights are respected and taken into account.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 16 July 2014, talked with people who use the service and reviewed information given to us by the provider.

Our judgement

Before people received any care or treatment they were asked for their consent and the provider acted in accordance with their wishes.

Reasons for our judgement

People we spoke with told us they enjoyed using the service and said that staff explained how they were going to assist them. One person told us “They’ll do anything for you”. They also confirmed their care was being provided as planned

Our previous inspection visit in April 2014 found that the service was not consistently obtaining people's consent to their care treatment or establishing whether or not people had the capacity to make decisions for themselves. We looked at the information provided by the service in their action plan in June 2014. This showed us that relevant action had been taken and consent forms were being reviewed and completed everyone using the service.

The manager told us that no one using the service was currently subject to a Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) authorisation. This is the process a registered provider follows to establish whether people are able to make decisions about their lives and whether restricting them in any way is in their best interest. A recent judgement on 19 March 2014 by the Supreme Court widened and clarified the definition of deprivation of liberty. It confirmed that anyone who required continuous supervision and would not be safe to leave the home independently would be deprived of their liberty and safeguards must be put in place to protect their rights. Discussions took place with the manager regarding this and how this will impact on the provider's responsibility to ensure DoLS are in place for people using the service. The manager confirmed that she was aware of this recent judgement and the provider supplied a copy of the guidance given to its services confirming that work would be taking place to ensure DoLS applications were made as required.

We looked at six people’s records and saw that these documents had been signed by the person or their representative. They also showed us assessments of people's capacity to make decisions were completed and that assessments about specific decisions were completed where necessary. This meant the service was now ensuring people and their representatives were involved in making decisions about their care and treatment.

We also saw the manager had been undertaking audits of records that included checking whether people’s consent had been obtained. The audit carried out in July 2014 confirmed that the majority of people had a completed consent document.

The provider also confirmed that further training had been arranged on the Mental Capacity Act since our previous inspection visit in April 2014. One member of staff had completed this and a further five were to undertake it. This meant staff were kept up to date with knowledge and guidance on consent, capacity and decision making.