You are here

Archived: The Old Police House Dental Practice

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 6 March 2013
Date of Publication: 13 June 2013
Inspection Report published 13 June 2013 PDF | 73.07 KB

People should be protected from abuse and staff should respect their human rights (outcome 7)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are protected from abuse, or the risk of abuse, and their human rights are respected and upheld.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 6 March 2013 and talked with staff.

Our judgement

People who used the service were protected from the risk of abuse, because the provider had taken reasonable steps to identify the possibility of abuse and prevent abuse from happening.

Reasons for our judgement

People who use the service were protected from the risk of abuse because the provider had taken reasonable steps to identify the possibility of abuse and prevent abuse from happening.

Following the original inspection in October 2012 we sent an urgent compliance letter regarding CRB checks for staff not being in place. The provider confirmed within two days of the urgent compliance letter being sent that they had started the process for obtaining these checks for all staff at the surgery. During our second visit in March 2013 we were able to confirm that these checks were now in place, including for staff recruited since the last inspection.

We identified at our visit in October 2012 that staff had undergone some training regarding the safeguarding of children but there had been a lack of training completed regarding safeguarding vulnerable adults. During our visit in March 2013 we viewed evidence that all staff had attended training regarding the protection of vulnerable adults. Staff had also completed online training on the subject. Training attended had covered the types of abuse, ways of dealing with suspected abuse and how suspected abuse should be reported.

When we spoke with staff they showed a good understanding of how to spot the signs of possible abuse, particularly those pertinent to the specific setting. Staff members, including the safeguarding lead, were able to tell us how things were reported and where they would find the correct contact details for the relevant agencies. They were aware of their own responsibilities in terms of appropriate action and escalation.

A flowchart for how to report a safeguarding had been produced and was available for staff to refer to in the staff room, reception area and in the dental surgery. The flowchart sheet also included contact details for the safeguarding team and other agencies such as the Care Quality Commission (CQC). We looked at the policies that were in place. These included a policy and procedure for protecting vulnerable adults, the use of restraint, physical intervention and mental capacity. A signature sheet also confirmed that all staff had read and were familiar with these policies.

We spoke with the dentist and staff about the responsibility to notify CQC of any suspected abuse and other significant incidents. Staff were able to give us examples of things that would require reporting and the ways they would do this. A policy with regard to how and when to complete a notification was also in place. We also saw further evidence of discussions within staff meetings regarding safeguarding and reporting responsibilities.