You are here

Archived: Chesterfield Orthodontics

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 6 January 2012
Date of Publication: 3 February 2012
Inspection Report published 3 February 2012 PDF

People should get safe and appropriate care that meets their needs and supports their rights (outcome 4)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Experience effective, safe and appropriate care, treatment and support that meets their needs and protects their rights.

How this check was done

Our judgement

People using the service experience effective, safe and appropriate care, treatment and support that meets their needs.

User experience

We spoke to two patients who described the care they experienced. They felt that the practice delivered care and treatment in a way that met their needs and felt safe when they had treatment. They also felt involved in the planning of their orthodontic care and were asked for their consent before treatment was undertaken. They said that staff communicated with them well.

Other evidence

The practice has a patient information leaflet which includes a frequently asked questions section giving information about orthodontic treatments. It also provides information about opening times.

We saw evidence which showed that patients had been offered choices as to treatment options. There were also consent forms for patients. Treatment specific information leaflets are also provided for patients.

We saw evidence of local rules being available for the x-ray machine which is used in the practice.

We saw evidence that staff had undergone appropriate training in a range of areas. These included training in orthognathic surgery undertaken by the provider on 5 May 2011, and an on-line oral hygiene course undertaken by a dental nurse in January 2011.Evidence of training in basic life support was also seen. This included a medical emergency and basic life support skills course taken on 6 September 2011, and a first aid course run by St. John’s Ambulance undertaken in February 2011.

There are monthly practice meetings which discuss the management of the practice, audits and training issues. A meeting on 13 May 2011 included a discussion of an incident involving a box of instruments. Whilst a meeting held on 26 November 2011 discussed the creation of new systems for patient assessments and appointments. We were advised by the provider that significant events are analysed and discussed at team meetings.

We saw evidence of audits being undertaken by members of the team at the practice. These included audits of radiographs, clinical records and photographs. There was also a specific audit on temporary anchorage devices, which are mini-screws used as part of orthodontic treatment. This contributes to a British Orthodontic Society database managed under the auspices of the National Institute for Clinical Excellence (NICE).

We saw evidence that patient satisfaction surveys are undertaken and analysed on an on-going basis. Patients can undertake these surveys either through using a smart phone or by completing a paper form.