You are here

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 25 September 2013
Date of Publication: 24 October 2013
Inspection Report published 24 October 2013 PDF

People should be cared for in safe and accessible surroundings that support their health and welfare (outcome 10)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are in safe, accessible surroundings that promote their wellbeing.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 25 September 2013, observed how people were being cared for and checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care. We talked with people who use the service, talked with carers and / or family members and talked with staff.

Our judgement

People who use the service, staff and visitors were protected against the risks of unsafe or unsuitable premises.

Reasons for our judgement

The provider had taken steps to provide care in an environment that was suitably designed and adequately maintained. The manager told us that the home had a policies and procedures manual that included appropriate policies for health and safety, risk assessment, moving and handling and fire. All the essential service checks such as for gas, electricity and fire alarms had been carried out and hot water temperatures were monitored and a record was maintained. The regular hot water checks were seen to have been recorded with all temperatures seen to be below 43 degrees at each outlet up to the day of the inspection.

We were shown all the latest records as well as certificates for the following services that were installed in the home, certificates which stated that these systems had been checked by appropriate professionals since the last inspection and found to be satisfactory and fit for purpose:

1. Gas Landlord’s Safety Certificate –5/06/2013

2. Emergency lights – 10/07/2013

3. Fire alarm – 10/07/2013

4. Fire extinguishers – 10/07/2013

5. PAT testing of electrical goods – 3/03/2013

6. Nurse call system – 18/04/2013

7. Hot water temperature checks – records seen up to 09/09/2013

8. Lift service – 30/04/2013

9. London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority fire risk assessment - 12/08/2013.

The manager told us that a fire inspection / audit had been carried out by the London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority (LFEPA) in August and that all was found to be satisfactory. We saw documented evidence that supported this.