You are here

Archived: St Ann's Nursing Home

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 21 May 2012
Date of Publication: 26 June 2012
Inspection Report published 26 June 2012 PDF

The service should have quality checking systems to manage risks and assure the health, welfare and safety of people who receive care (outcome 16)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Benefit from safe quality care, treatment and support, due to effective decision making and the management of risks to their health, welfare and safety.

How this check was done

Our judgement

We found that a quality assurance system was in place at St Ann’s Nursing Home that enabled the manager to regularly assess and monitor the quality of the service that people received.

The views of people living at the home and staff had also been sought to improve the quality of care delivery.

The provider had a system in place to identify, assess and manage risks to the health, safety and welfare of people using the service.

The provider was meeting this standard.

User experience

During our visit to St Ann’s Nursing Home we asked people their views about the home and whether they were happy living there.

People we spoke with told us they were happy living at the service.

One service user told us ‘I would go to the office if I had a complaint’.

Other evidence

During our visit to St Ann’s Nursing Home, we observed people being spoken with and supported in a friendly and professional manner.

We observed that service users were able to express their views and make suggestions by talking directly to the staff where possible.

The Director of Care Services told us that a clinical review had been completed by Brighton and Hove City Council on 16th April 2012. Medication storage, care plans and incident reporting forms were checked as part of this review. Controlled drug competences and compliance were also assessed. The manager was awaiting the review report. She had been provisionally advised that there were no significant issues which needed to be addressed.

We were told that an audit had also been completed by the Contracts Team at Brighton and Hove City Council and that no significant issues had been highlighted to the management team.

We saw that there were file auditing tools being used by the manager at the home. There were up-to-date medication and fire risk assessments in place. We found evidence of care plans and infection control checks being undertaken at the home on a monthly basis to ensure high standards of care provision and hygient.

We were told that a consultancy company completed regular health and safety audits and training workshops with staff. We saw an ‘infection control champion’ certificate on the wall in the office which was valid until December 2012. We saw there was an infection control audit checklist developed from the National Infection Control Nurses Association being used by the home to minimise risks of infection to service users.

We saw that there was a fire safety policy at the home and a fire drill took place on the day of our inspection.

Policies and procedures within the home were comprehensive, up-to-date and accessible to staff.

During our visit we saw evidence that service user surveys had been undertaken in March 2012 by the manager to better understand the needs and wishes of people living there. There was evidence of survey analysis as a service user suggested that staff wore name badges to prompt their memory. Badges are now being worn by staff in the home.

The manager organised monthly relative and resident meetings. We saw evidence of this in up-to-date meeting minutes. During the last meeting discussions were held about a garden party to be organised in August 2012. Comments from people living at the home were clearly documented to ensure the event was organised in line with their wishes and preferences.

We saw up-to-date maintenance record requests and were told of various maintenance projects being undertaken in the home to include a portable ramp for a bathroom to support people with mobility difficulties. Another example was a fence being built around the patio area as a safe area for service users to enjoy.

We saw evidence of a complaints policy in place at the home. We also saw evidence of an incident reporting system in place which was up-to-date.

We were told that St Ann’s Nursing Home had membership of the Registered Nursing Home Association as at 1st January 2012. This enabled the home to share information on best practice in care delivery within the home with other nursing homes.

We saw evidence of an up-to-date training matrix showing the training needs of staff and current training schedules for staff on an information board in the office. This ensured that staff had appropriate competence to undertake their caring and clinical roles.