You are here

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 5 January 2012
Date of Publication: 27 January 2012
Inspection Report published 27 January 2012 PDF

Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff.

How this check was done

Our judgement

People had their health and welfare needs met by competent staff.

User experience

We found concerns in relation to this outcome on our last inspection of Gregory Court on 12 October 2011. This inspection was used to check on improvements made by the provider Disabilities Trust and to assess compliance.

We spoke with people who used the service. One person told us, “The staff here are all fabulous.” They told us that the care workers cared for them appropriately and knew what they were doing. Another person said, “The staff here are really good.”

Other evidence

We found concerns in relation to this outcome on our last inspection of Gregory Court on 12 October 2011. This inspection was used to check on improvements made by the provider Disabilities Trust and to assess compliance.

We received an action plan from the provider as a result of our last inspection. In it, they told us that they would, 'Review training planner, implement condition specific training. Diarise support and structured supervisions. Use any competency based supervision forms.' They told us these improvements would be completed by 11 November 2011.

We looked at care worker's files and spoke to them. There was paperwork to support that care workers received supervision during November 2011 with the acting manager. Supervision records included a check list followed by short comments by the manager. Two care workers told us they had received a supervision from the acting manager since November 2011.

We saw a training induction booklet that included a record of reading policies and procedures. Certificates of training showed that care workers were receiving a varied programme of regular training. Recent training events had included first aid, respect and dignity in residential care, medications and infection control.

There was also a 'training matrix'. The deputy manager told us that this had not been updated to reflect the most recent training received by staff. As a result the matrix showed that three staff had never been trained in moving and handling. We found further evidence from speaking to one of the staff that they had completed it, but the trainer had not recorded it in the right place. The deputy manager told us there should be a lot more training certificates in staff files, but could not find any. So the outcome was that people were cared for by trained staff, but the records were not up to date.