You are here

Archived: Partridge Care Centre Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 14 September 2011
Date of Publication: 4 October 2011
Inspection Report published 4 October 2011 PDF | 48.9 KB

The service should have quality checking systems to manage risks and assure the health, welfare and safety of people who receive care (outcome 16)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Benefit from safe quality care, treatment and support, due to effective decision making and the management of risks to their health, welfare and safety.

How this check was done

We reviewed all the information we hold about this provider, carried out a visit on 14/09/2011, observed how people were being cared for, talked to staff and talked to people who use services.

Our judgement

The provider is compliant with this outcome. The quality of service is now being audited to ensure people using the service receive safe and appropriate care and support to meet their needs. Improvements are needed to ensure the audit systems are sustained.

User experience

Relatives with whom we spoke made positive comments about general improvements in the service provided for the people living in Partridge Court Nursing Home. One person said "We have really noticed so much improvement in the cleanliness, staffing numbers and the general care."

Other evidence

When we visited the service in July 2011 we found that management systems had not been effective to ensure a good quality service. This visit, carried out on14 September 2011, was to assess improvements that the provider had made following our visit on 14 July 2011 and the service of a warning notice about assessing and monitoring the quality of the service provision.

At our inspection visit of 14 September 2011 we found significant improvements had been made. Systems were now in place to assess the safety of the home and the quality of care was being monitored. The manager and provider must now ensure that the good systems are sustained and further developed.

At our visit of July 2011 we were concerned that the views and opinions of people living there and their relatives had not been asked for. At our inspection visit of 14 September 2011 we looked at the minutes of recent meetings held with people living in the home and their relatives. We read that discussions had taken place about food, laundry arrangements, activities and a discussion about what had been happening with the management of the home. These meetings confirmed that the views and opinions of the people living there were sought so they can contribute towards the improvement and development of the home.

Relatives told us there had been meetings to address specific areas of the service delivery. They told us of a meeting that was due to take part later on this day to discuss the activity provision within the home.

Visitors to the home shared positive views around improvements that were gradually taking effect in Partridge Court Nursing Home. These included areas such as food, laundry, the overall cleanliness of the home and staffing levels.

We saw that a system was in place to monitor incident and accidents. This should ensure that action will be taken by the manager to pick up on any trends in the home and minimise the risks to people’s safety.

Quality audit systems had recently been implemented by members of Rushcliffe senior management team who have been supporting the service over recent weeks. This should ensure that audits take place and areas of concern are quickly identified and action taken. This included general health and safety checks so a safe environment is provided for people to live in. We saw that care plans were being audited to ensure that staff had clear information to follow so they can provide the care and support that people need to keep them safe and in the manner they want.

Risk assessments had improved so that staff had the necessary information they needed to keep people safe. We noted that some risk assessments would benefit from more detail. The Rushcliffe senior manager present during the inspection acknowledged that this was work in progress.

We were told that regular staff meetings now take place. We saw the minutes of the last meeting and these indicated that information about the running of the home is passed on to staff and they have the opportunity to discuss any issues.