You are here

Archived: The Hospital Group - Nottingham Clinic

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 13 August 2013
Date of Publication: 5 September 2013
Inspection Report published 05 September 2013 PDF

The service should have quality checking systems to manage risks and assure the health, welfare and safety of people who receive care (outcome 16)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Benefit from safe quality care, treatment and support, due to effective decision making and the management of risks to their health, welfare and safety.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 13 August 2013, observed how people were being cared for and checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care. We talked with people who use the service and talked with staff.

Our judgement

The provider had an effective system to regularly assess and monitor the quality of service that patients received.

Reasons for our judgement

Patients, their representatives and staff were asked for their views about their care and treatment and they were acted on.

Our inspection on 7 February 2013 found that regular audits were not taking place and there had been no recent analysis of patient satisfaction questionnaires. The provider wrote to us on 15 March 2013 and told us that audits and an analysis of patient satisfaction questionnaires would be in place by the end of April 2013.

We spoke with one patient. They said, “I have completed the questionnaires that are in the reception. I’ve also provided feedback on their Facebook page. When I had a concern, the staff went out of their way to address it.”

We spoke with three staff members about this standard. They told us that questionnaires were completed by patients to obtain their views on the service.

Patient questionnaire forms and a patient comments book were displayed in the waiting area. We saw an analysis of the patient questionnaire responses for the service from April 2012 to March 2013 which were very positive regarding all areas of the service.

We looked at the complaints policy which contained appropriate detail. We looked at recent complaints and they were responded to appropriately.

We saw that an audit of the reception area’s cleanliness and facilities had taken place in March 2013 and an audit of the information held in staff files had been carried in July 2013. Both audits had positive findings.

We also saw that an audit of the completeness of documentation had been carried out in July 2013 and the findings were also positive.