You are here

Tynwald Residential Home Requires improvement

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 18 September 2012
Date of Publication: 29 October 2012
Inspection Report published 29 October 2012 PDF | 48.53 KB

Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff.

How this check was done

We reviewed all the information we hold about this provider, carried out a visit on 18/09/2012 and talked to people who use services.

Our judgement

The provider was meeting this standard.

People were cared for by staff who were supported to deliver care and treatment safely and to an appropriate standard.

User experience

People told us that staff were knowledgeable and helpful.

Other evidence

Our inspection of December 2011 found that staff were not receiving an acceptable level of supervision and support to ensure the staff had the chance to develop and improve their skills.

The provider wrote to us on 4 January 2012 and told us that that all staff appraisals were to be undertaken in January and February 2012. We looked at records and saw that all staff appraisals have been undertaken in January and February 2012.

The service provided an induction programme for staff which was based on the Skills for Care Common Induction Standards and included advocacy/residents rights and choices.

New staff were allocated a mentor for the first three weeks and worked under supervision for three months.

Records showed that staff had completed the induction programme and this was confirmed by staff.

The service had a learning and development plan in place and staff training needs were identified through one to one supervision and the appraisal system. Additional training, such as dementia care and parkinson’s care was provided for staff to help them meet the needs of people who used service. Some of the training, such as care planning was provided internally. Other training, such as safeguarding vulnerable adults, was provided by external organisations.

Staff were supported to undertake vocational qualifications. Several staff had completed NVQ (National Vocational Qualification) level 2, 3 or 4.

We saw records of training attended by staff and they were up to date and included reminders for refresher training. Staff we spoke with said they had attended all relevant training.

Staff told us they received regular ongoing supervision and the service supported them to attend training days.