You are here

Archived: Take 4 Personnel Limited

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 29 August and 4, 24 September 2013
Date of Publication: 7 November 2013
Inspection Report published 07 November 2013 PDF

The service should have quality checking systems to manage risks and assure the health, welfare and safety of people who receive care (outcome 16)

Not met this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Benefit from safe quality care, treatment and support, due to effective decision making and the management of risks to their health, welfare and safety.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 29 August 2013, 4 September 2013 and 24 September 2013, checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care and talked with people who use the service. We talked with carers and / or family members, talked with staff and reviewed information given to us by the provider.

Our judgement

The provider had a system to regularly assess and monitor the quality of service that people received, however improvements were required to ensure that it was effective.

Reasons for our judgement

At the time of our last inspection to the service in February 2013, moderate concerns were highlighted in relation to the provider not having an effective system in place to regularly assess and monitor the quality of the service. An action plan was forwarded to us in April 2013, detailing the corrective actions being taken by the provider to achieve compliance.

We looked at the provider's quality assurance policy and this was noted to have been reviewed and updated in March 2013. This told us of the provider's arrangements to regularly assess and monitor the quality of the service provided by Take 4 Personnel. We found that some elements of the policy were not being adhered to. This referred specifically to there being no evidence to show that one-to-one meetings with staff were being conducted on a monthly basis; and that an annual appraisal was conducted. The provider may find it useful to note that there was no evidence to show how calls and visits to people who used the service were monitored on a regular basis so as to ensure that people received the full duration of their allocated calls. We found that there was no evidence to show that an audit of people's support plan and daily records was undertaken so as to ensure that these were appropriate and in line with the provider's policy.

Records showed that the views of people who used the service and those acting on their behalf had been sought since our last inspection in February 2013. The information had been analysed with the data represented as a pie chart. The results showed that people who used the service and those acting on their behalf found the quality of the service provided by Take 4 Personnel to be either "good" or "excellent." The majority of people stated that they would use Take 4 Personnel again. Specific comments recorded included, "I could not have anybody [staff] better", "[Name of member of staff] has been really good with [Name of person who used the service]. Holiday cover not quite up to their standard but they are a hard act to follow", "We have been very happy with the service provided since [Name of person who used the service] has been in their flat. [Name of staff member] will always let us know if they can't get there on time" and "Happy with service. All very easy to get on with. They [staff] are helpful and caring." No negative comments about the service were noted.

The office manager told us that formal 'spot checks' on staff had been recently initiated. We asked to see the records and found that these had only been completed for three out of 39 members of staff. Records were seen to be informative and detailed and highlighted evidence of good working practices by staff and areas which required further improvement. The office manager advised that they would initiate a scheduled programme of 'spot checks' for all staff so as to monitor staff performance.

Since our last inspection to the service in February 2013, records showed that there had been five staff meetings. The office manager advised that where staff were unable to attend, the minutes of the staff meeting were discussed with staff on an individual basis. The provider may find it useful to note that where issues were highlighted for action and/or monitoring, an action plan should be devised to evidence that these had been completed.