You are here

Archived: Take 4 Personnel Limited

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 29 August and 4, 24 September 2013
Date of Publication: 7 November 2013
Inspection Report published 07 November 2013 PDF

Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)

Not met this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 29 August 2013, 4 September 2013 and 24 September 2013, checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care and talked with people who use the service. We talked with carers and / or family members, talked with staff and reviewed information given to us by the provider.

Our judgement

People were cared for by staff who were supported to deliver care and treatment safely and to an appropriate standard. However improvements are required to ensure that staff receive regular formal supervision and appraisal.

Reasons for our judgement

At the time of our last inspection to the service in February 2013, moderate concerns were highlighted in relation to gaps in staff training. In addition we found that there was a lack of evidence to show that staff had received an induction, formal supervision and/or appraisal. An action plan was forwarded to us in April 2013, detailing the corrective actions being taken by the provider to achieve compliance.

The training records for six members of staff showed that significant improvements had been made so as to ensure that staff received training in core subject areas. These referred specifically to safeguarding of vulnerable adults, manual handling, basic first aid, infection control, health and safety, food hygiene and medication. Staff told us that they were given sufficient notice about forthcoming training so that they could attend. We spoke with three members of staff and they confirmed that all of the above training was up to date.

The induction records for four members of staff were reviewed. Records showed that three out of four members of staff had commenced and completed Skills for Care Common Induction Standards. The latter is completed over a 12 week period and sets out the first things a new worker needs to know in relation to their job role and the people they provide support to. The provider told us that new employees 'shadow' an experienced member of staff when they first commenced employment. Records were evident for one member of staff detailing the outcome of their 'shadow' shift. Records showed that this had been a positive experience for the newly appointed member of staff.

The supervision records for five members of staff employed within the preceding 12 months were requested and viewed. Records showed that none of these staff had received formal supervision and/or an appraisal. We spoke with three members of staff and they confirmed that they had not received formal supervision. Staff confirmed that they had informal discussions with the office manager and/or care co-ordinator. This is not in line with the provider's 'Staff Appraisal, Supervision and Development' policy dated 2012. This states, that the minimum requirement is that these should be held on a six to eight weekly basis. Staff told us that they found both members of the management team to be very approachable and supportive. Staff stated that they received positive feedback from the management team about their performance and that they felt valued and appreciated.