You are here

Archived: Take 4 Personnel Limited

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 31 January 2014
Date of Publication: 26 February 2014
Inspection Report published 26 February 2014 PDF

The service should have quality checking systems to manage risks and assure the health, welfare and safety of people who receive care (outcome 16)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Benefit from safe quality care, treatment and support, due to effective decision making and the management of risks to their health, welfare and safety.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 31 January 2014, checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care and reviewed information given to us by the provider.

Our judgement

The provider had an effective system to regularly assess and monitor the quality of service that people receive.

Reasons for our judgement

At our last inspection of the service in August 2013 and September 2013, we had minor concerns about the provider's arrangements for assessing and monitoring the quality of service provided by Take 4 Personnel Limited. The provider sent us an action plan in November 2013 telling us what corrective action they had taken following our inspection and what they would do to achieve compliance.

Records also showed that spot checks on staff were regularly conducted so as to monitor staffs individual performance. The records for six members of staff were viewed and these showed that the majority had provided an effective, warm, caring and compassionate approach to their role. Where issues were raised, we found that proactive action had been taken by the management team with the member of staff. For example, one spot check had highlighted that a member of staff had not stayed at the person who used the service's home for the allocated time, or completed all tasks as required. The management team completed a further spot check the following day and conducted a formal meeting with the member of staff.

The homecare manager advised that the service did not use an electronic monitoring system to show how calls and visits to people who used the service were monitored. The homecare manager advised that people who used the service and those acting on their behalf were very proactive in contacting the domiciliary care office if staff were late and/or had any concerns. The homecare manager advised that once contacted, office staff or the 'on-call' would make the appropriate arrangements to find out what was happening and/or provide alternative staff support.

In addition, systems were now in place to review people's support plans at regular three monthly intervals.

There was evidence to show that staff meetings had been regularly conducted since September 2013. These meetings served to discuss issues within the domiciliary care service, ways of working and to share relevant information with all staff relevant to their roles and responsibilities.