You are here

Archived: Take 4 Personnel Limited

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 31 January 2014
Date of Publication: 26 February 2014
Inspection Report published 26 February 2014 PDF

People should be given the medicines they need when they need them, and in a safe way (outcome 9)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Will have their medicines at the times they need them, and in a safe way.
  • Wherever possible will have information about the medicine being prescribed made available to them or others acting on their behalf.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 31 January 2014, checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care and reviewed information given to us by the provider.

Our judgement

People were protected against the risks associated with medicines because the provider had appropriate arrangements in place to manage medicines.

Reasons for our judgement

At our last inspection of the service in August 2013 and September 2013, we had minor concerns about the provider's arrangements for ensuring that people were protected against the risks associated with the management of medicines. The provider sent us an action plan in November 2013 telling us what corrective action they had taken following our inspection and what they would do to achieve compliance.

During our inspection on 31 January 2014, we looked at the provider's systems for the safe management of medicines. As part of the inspection process we reviewed people's support plans. The Medication Administration Records (MAR) for three people were forwarded to us following our inspection. We found that the majority of people who were being cared for in their own home had their medication managed by a member of their family or required prompting and/or actual administration by staff to take their medicines. The care file for each person showed that a support plan had been completed and this recorded information relating to the person's ability to look after their medicines or if care staff and those acting on their behalf were responsible for giving them.

The support plans for 10 people who used the service were reviewed. These showed that each person had a completed medication assessment. This recorded information relating to the person's ability to look after and take some or all of their medicines, if those acting on their behalf were responsible for the administration of their medication, or if support staff were responsible for giving them.

The MAR forms for three people were viewed. We found that appropriate systems were in place to record when medicines were given to people and there were no discrepancies with the records.

A copy of the provider's updated medication policy and procedure was viewed and this was found to be comprehensive. The staff training records for eight members of staff were viewed and these showed that each person had received medication training.