You are here

Archived: Choice Healthcare - Barnsley

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 5, 11 February 2014
Date of Publication: 15 March 2014
Inspection Report published 15 March 2014 PDF | 91.6 KB

Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)

Not met this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 5 February 2014 and 11 February 2014, talked with people who use the service and talked with staff. We talked with other authorities.

Our judgement

People were not always cared for by staff who were supported to deliver care and treatment safely and to an appropriate standard.

Reasons for our judgement

We looked at nine staff files and found that the majority of staff had not received regular supervisions. For example, the first supervision record we saw for someone who had commenced employment in 2011 was dated May 2013. None were seen since this date. Another person had started employment in February 2013 and the first and only supervision seen was dated October 2013. Several files had no details contained of any supervisions taking place.

We spoke with the manager who informed us that staff should receive regular supervisions. The supervision policy stated that all care staff should have at least one formal supervision every three months. Conversations with staff we spoke with confirmed that this was not occurring. One care worker who had been working for the service for approximately a year told us they thought they recalled having a supervision on one previous occasion. This person said that they would speak to a senior if they did have any issues they wanted to raise.

We saw yearly appraisals forms for one staff member only, however the majority of the staff whose files we viewed had not worked for the service for 12 months at the time of our inspection. The service had no system in place to identify when staff members were due to have supervisions and appraisals. This meant the provider was not monitoring the performance of staff to ensure they had sufficient skills and competency to carry out their duties and meet people's needs.

We looked at the staff training records of four staff which were provided to us on our second visit. These covered training in a number of areas including medication awareness, food hygiene, pressure area care, dementia care and health and safety. We saw the service’s training matrix and identified that some training was out of date, for example, some staff had not received training in first aid, health and safety and food hygiene since 2010. Not all current staff were listed in the training matrix and in some cases we were not able to determine whether training had been delivered or when it was due for renewal. It was unclear whether the records had not been updated or the training had not occurred.

Staff told us that they were encouraged to undertake NVQ training provided by the company. On the date of our second visit, NVQ assessors were seeing staff in the office to assess their progress. This showed that staff did have opportunities to access additional training relevant to their role and improve their skills where they wished to.

Staff we spoke with told us that they had received an induction prior to starting employment. This was currently completed by a member of care staff who had been trained to deliver the training involved. Staff told us they undertook shadowing periods with other staff as part of this induction as well as attending the office for various training courses. This showed that there was a process in place for new staff members joining the company however this was not always formalised.