You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 2 April 2014

The trust operates from three sites:

  • Blackpool Victoria, which is the main hospital site and the focus of much of its work
  • Clifton Hospital, which currently has four wards, mainly for elderly care and rehabilitation (with one outpatient clinic)
  • Fleetwood Hospital,

This report relates to the Clifton Hospital site.

Clifton Hospital is a community hospital situated at Lytham St Annes, approximately seven miles from Blackpool. The hospital forms part of Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and provides non-acute and rehabilitation care, predominantly for older people. Care is provided across four wards and a day case unit. Rheumatology and dermatology outpatient services for the trust are provided at Clifton hospital.

At this hospital we looked at inpatient medical services and outpatient clinics.

We spoke with patients on the wards, and also with patients and members of the public in the outpatients department.

Overall we found that services provided at the Clifton hospital were provided in a safe, effective, caring manner, that they were responsive to the needs of those using the services and were well led.

We saw good examples of the input of volunteers on wards supporting patients. Staff were caring and compassionate and the leadership was clearly visible. Patients we met were very complimentary about the care they had received. Some patients were not sure on the date for their discharge, or what progress they would need to make to be well enough for discharge.

We did see that the storage of equipment in some ward areas was unsatisfactory. The legibility of some records made understanding the content very difficult. This will have an impact of the ability of some staff to follow the instructions and care plan.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 2 April 2014

The services at Clifton Hospital were safe. The safety of services was supported by robust assessment of patients’ needs and provision of care to meet those needs. The record keeping was poor with some patient records were difficult to read or illegible. All records need to be clearly recorded so that all members of staff can understand the decisions made and the actions to take.

Effective

Good

Updated 2 April 2014

The services at Clifton Hospital were effective and were focused on the needs of patients. There was clear evidence of local and national audit practice which were undertaken to monitor care and outcomes so that action is taken to improve care.

Caring

Good

Updated 2 April 2014

The services at Clifton Hospital were delivered caring and compassionate staff. All the people we spoke with were positive about their care and treatment and we observed staff treating people with dignity and respect.

Responsive

Good

Updated 2 April 2014

The services at Clifton Hospital were responsive to the needs of people, for example evening and weekend outpatient clinics were held, also volunteers were encouraged and we saw that ward 1 used them to provide activities such as hand massages and nail painting, which the patients enjoyed.

The provision of storage for equipment on one ward was inadequate and the supply of some items of linen was not always adequate

Well-led

Good

Updated 2 April 2014

Clifton Hospital was well-led. We found there was an open culture where staff could raise concerns. Doctors and nurses felt supported in their roles and training was available. Staff were very dedicated, compassionate and proud to work at the hospital and the quality of the service was monitored

People were encouraged to share their impression of the hospital in ways in which improvements could be made.

Checks on specific services

Medical care (including older people’s care)

Good

Updated 2 April 2014

Throughout the service we witnessed good effective care and treatment being delivered in a caring way by dedicated staff. There were systems for identifying, investigating and learning from patient safety incidents and there was an emphasis in the trust to reduce harm to patients. We had some concerns over the limited storage for equipment and the availability of some items of linen, particularly at weekends. We also found that record keeping by the one consultant and, to a lesser extent, some junior medical staff was poor. Some patient records we reviewed were illegible and contained numerous acronyms and abbreviations. While use of abbreviations is common in medical records, excessive use, especially where present with writing that is difficult to read, risks some staff not fully understanding the care instructions or annotations made.

Outpatients

Good

Updated 2 April 2014

The outpatient areas were clean, well-organised, well-staffed and generally ran smoothly. Some clinics were overbooked, which could result in patients waiting longer for their appointments. There were clinics during the evenings and at weekends in order to meet the needs of patients.