You are here

We are carrying out checks at Meadowbanks Care Home using our new way of inspecting services. We will publish a report when our check is complete.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 30 June 2015

We carried out an inspection of Meadowbanks Care Home on 20 March 2015 and the inspection was unannounced. Following concerns shared with the Care Quality Commission we carried out a responsive inspection at 12.45am on 22 April 2015. We found no evidence to corroborate the concerns raised with us.

The last inspection took place on 31 January 2014 and found that Meadowbanks was meeting the regulations in relation to outcomes we inspected.

Meadowbanks Care Home provides accommodation and support with personal care to older people. At the time of the inspection they were providing personal care and support to 36 people.

There was a registered manager at the service at the time of our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and

associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Information relating to medicines was not always recorded correctly. We found that medicine had not been administered however the reasons for this were not clearly documented.

The home had comprehensive policies and procedures relating to the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards. DoLS ensure people who receive support are looked after in a way that does not inappropriately restrict their freedom. Services should only deprive someone of their liberty when it is in the best interests of the person and there is no other way to look after them, and it should be done in a safe and correct way.

People and their relatives told us they felt safe at Meadowbanks and that they were happy with the level of care and support they received. The service followed a person centred approach in the delivery of care which was tailored to people’s individual needs.

Comprehensive systems were in place to maintain people’s safety. We saw that risk assessments were in place and that staff were aware of the whistleblowing policy and the different signs of abuse and who to report concerns to.

Records indicated that people’s lives had been documented taking into account where possible people’s preferences regarding the care they received.

We observed staff interacting with people in a kind, respectful and compassionate manner ensuring that people’s privacy and dignity were maintained at all times. One person told us ”Nothing’s too much of a problem to the staff” and a relative told us “Magnificent, cannot fault them [staff], they treat mum with respect”.

Audits were carried out by the registered manager in relation to health and safety, fire safety, medicines, risk assessments and food safety, to ensure the service provision was regularly monitored and any areas of improvement were acted upon.

Staff received training on moving and handling, health and safety, medicines, falls prevention and dementia to carry out their job effectively.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 30 June 2015

Not all aspects of the service were safe. Medicines were not always recorded correctly which increased the risks of administration errors.

Accidents and incidents were recorded and reviewed to minimise the risk of repeat incidents.

The service had comprehensive systems in place to ensure that the premises and equipment were safe and operational.

The registered manager had devised risk assessments to ensure both known and unknown risks were managed effectively and in accordance with people’s care plans.

Effective

Good

Updated 30 June 2015

The service was effective. The home had comprehensive policies in place regarding Mental Capacity Act 2005 and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards. Staff obtained people’s consent to care and supported them to make choices.

Effective care and treatment was delivered by trained and experienced staff who received ongoing training, to ensure that they met people’s needs.

People received access to health care services and received ongoing support from external professionals.

People were provided with sufficient nutritional food and encouraged to maintain a healthy balanced diet.

Caring

Good

Updated 30 June 2015

The service was caring. Staff treated people with dignity and respect at all times. Staff maintained positive meaningful relationships with people and were compassionate to their needs.

Staff encouraged people to express their views and involved them in all aspects of their care.

Staff were respectful of people’s needs and wishes and acted upon these as quickly as possible.

Responsive

Good

Updated 30 June 2015

The service was responsive. Systems were in place to ensure that any complaints were investigated immediately and action taken where appropriate.

People who used the service received person centred care. The service provided a variety of activities for people in line with their likes and dislikes.

Well-led

Good

Updated 30 June 2015

The service was well-led. There were effective systems in place to monitor the quality of the service. These were regularly reviewed by the registered manager and where necessary action was taken.

People and their relatives spoke well of the registered manager and stated that they would have no problems approaching them should the need arise.