You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 27 March 2018

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Brighton Skin Surgery on 8 December 2017. We found that the service was providing safe, effective, caring and responsive services. However, we found that the service did not always provide well-led services and a breach of regulation was identified. The full comprehensive report on the inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Brighton Skin Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

Specifically, we said they must:

  • Ensure systems and processes are in place to assess, monitor and mitigate the risks relating to the health, safety and welfare of service users and others who may be at risk which arise from the carrying on of the regulated activity.

After the previous inspection on 8 December 2017, the provider wrote to us to say what they would do to meet legal requirements. We undertook this focused inspection on 20 March 2018 to check that they had followed their plan and to confirm that they now met legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements.

Our key findings for this inspection were as follows:

  • There were processes in place to assess, monitor and mitigate the risks relating to the health, safety and welfare of service users.
  • Medicines were stored safely.
  • Systems were in place to deal with medical emergencies and the provider had appropriate emergency medicines in place.

We carried out this inspection under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. This inspection was planned to check whether the service was meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Health and Social Care Act 2008.

Brighton Skin Surgery provides a minor surgery service for dermatology. Procedures offered include skin tag, cyst, mole, wart and cherry or blood spot removal. The service is based in a local NHS GP surgery on the outskirts of the city of Brighton and Hove.

Dr. Avni Patel is the registered manager. A registered manager is a person who is registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 27 March 2018

Effective

Updated 27 March 2018

Caring

Updated 27 March 2018

Responsive

Updated 27 March 2018

Well-led

Updated 27 March 2018

At our previous inspection on 8 December 2017, we found that this service did not always provide well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations. These issues had been addressed and action had been taken when we undertook a follow up inspection on 20 March 2018. The practice is now providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

  • There were clear and effective systems in place to support the governance of emergency medicines. There was evidence that checks took place every month and all equipment and medicines were present and in date.

  • Medicines that require refrigeration were stored safely and medicines for use in emergencies were checked in accordance with protocol.