You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 8 February 2018

Moreton Hill Care Centre is a care home for 67 people, some of whom are living with dementia. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. The Care Quality Commission regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Moreton Hill Care Centre provides accommodation with nursing and personal care. At the time of our inspection 41 people were living in the home.

At the last inspection in June 2016, the service was rated Good. We carried out a comprehensive inspection on 10 and 11 January 2018. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Sufficient numbers of staff were deployed at the time of our visit. Staff performance was effectively monitored. Staff received supervision and training to ensure they could meet people’s needs.

People’s medicines were managed safely and audits and checks were completed. Actions were taken when errors were identified.

Staff demonstrated a good understanding of safeguarding and whistleblowing and knew how to report concerns.

Risk assessments and risk management plans were in place. We found improvements were needed to make all risks were fully considered and appropriate actions taken to keep people safe.

Incidents and accidents were recorded and the records showed that actions were taken to minimise future occurrences.

People’s dietary requirements and preferences were recorded and people were provided with choices at mealtimes.

Staff were kind and caring. We found people were being treated with dignity and respect and people’s privacy was maintained.

A range of activities were offered and provided people with entertainment both in and out of the home.

Systems were in place for monitoring quality and safety and actions were taken where areas for improvement and shortfalls had been identified.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 8 February 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 8 February 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 8 February 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 8 February 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 8 February 2018

The service remains good.