You are here

New Horizons Trust Home Care Services Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 11 March 2016

We carried out this inspection on 20 January 2016 and it was announced. This means we told the provider that we would be inspecting the service before we carried out the inspection. We did this because the registered manager is sometimes out of the office supporting staff or visiting people who use the service. We needed to be sure that the registered manager would be available.

The last full inspection of the service took place on 26 January 2015 and we found the service to be in breach of the following regulations of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2010; Regulation 10 – Assessing and monitoring the quality of service provision [now Regulation 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014], Regulation 18 – Consent to care and treatment [now Regulation 11 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014] and Regulation 23 – Supporting workers [now Regulation 18(2) of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014]. Compliance actions were given for these three regulations. We checked that the registered provider had taken action on these breaches during this inspection and found the service was now compliant with these regulations.

New Horizons Trust Home Care Services provides personal care for adults living in their own home. The service is based in Deepcar, Sheffield and has access to local amenities. The service's offices are located on the first floor and can be accessed by a lift. At the time of our inspection, there were approximately 52 people using the service.

It is a condition of registration with the Care Quality Commission that the service has a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the service is run. The registered manager was present on the day of our inspection.

The service made sure people were protected from abuse by followed effective safeguarding procedures. We found records were complete and updated regularly. There were enough staff to cover each care visit and people had their needs met and responded to.

We found staff were adequately trained and supervised. The service had an effective and efficient computer system in place to monitor training and supervision needs.

We found there was an open culture at the service, where staff and people who used the service felt able to speak with management on all levels and felt confident in doing so. People confirmed they had their dignity and respect maintained and felt able to raise any concerns.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 11 March 2016

The service was safe.

People were protected from bullying, harassment, avoidable harm and abuse as relevant risk assessments had been carried out and reviewed on an (at least) annual basis, or if a person’s needs had changed.

There were sufficient numbers of staff employed for the purpose of providing care and support to people in their own homes.

Medication administration records we saw contained no gaps and were audited regularly.

Effective

Good

Updated 11 March 2016

The service was effective.

Staff had the knowledge and skills they needed to carry out their roles and responsibilities. Staff had regular, formal supervisions and training updates were undertaken by staff, when required.

Consent was sought from people before any care or support was provided and the service worked to the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

People were supported to maintain good health and were supported to have sufficient amounts to eat, drink and maintain a well-balanced diet. People had access to relevant healthcare professionals, where and when required, and were supported by staff to do so.

Caring

Good

Updated 11 March 2016

The service was caring.

Staff developed positive, caring relationships with people who used the service. People were supported to express their views and were involved in making decisions about their care and support.

Staff were able to explain to us how they protected and promoted people’s privacy and dignity. People who used the service confirmed their own privacy and dignity was respected.

People said staff were approachable, easy to talk to and kind.

Responsive

Good

Updated 11 March 2016

The service was responsive.

People’s care was personalised and responsive to their needs. People and their families or representatives had been involved in the planning of their care and support, where appropriate and when possible. This included information regarding the person’s likes and dislikes, preferences and preferred activities.

Complaints and concerns were encouraged, addressed, explored and responded to.

People said they felt able to complain to staff or the registered manager and felt confident these concerns would be dealt with. Complaints were monitored so the service could identify any patterns or trends and any actions were recorded and signed off when complete.

Well-led

Good

Updated 11 March 2016

The service was well led.

The service promoted a positive, person-centred, open, transparent, inclusive and empowering culture. There was an emphasis on support, fairness and transparency from staff and the registered manager. The registered manager followed an ‘open door policy’ and was available for people and staff to speak with.

There was good management and leadership at the service. Regular audits and checks were carried out, robust records were kept and good data management systems were in place.

Regular surveys were sent to staff, people who used the service and their relatives. Results from these surveys were collated and analysed to identify any actions that needed to be addressed.