You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 21 May 2015

We inspected this service on the 4 November 2014. The visit was unannounced and this meant that the provider did not know that we were coming. A further announced visit was made to the service on 6 November 2014.

St Helens Hall and Lodge provides residential care for older people with mental health care needs. The home has 2 units, The Lodge which can accommodate 56 people on 2 floors and the Hall which can accommodate 38 people on 2 floors.

During our previous inspection of the home in October 2013 we found that the service was meeting the regulations we assessed.

The registered manager had been in post since January 2012 and registered with the Care Quality Commission from June 2012. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People told us that they felt safe living at the home. Staff knew how to keep people safe from abuse and were aware of when and how to report any concerns they may have in relation to safeguarding people from harm. However, we found that people were not always safe because

the management of medicines required improvement.

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) is required by law to monitor the operation of the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) 2005 Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) and to report on what we find. Policies and procedures were in place to promote people’s rights and the provider’s responsibilities in relation to the MCA.

We looked at care planning records and found that detailed information was available for the staff team as how they were to offer care and support. Staff demonstrated a good awareness of the needs and wishes of the people they supported. We saw staff supporting people in a manner that respected their privacy and maintained their dignity

There interior of the building was created to offer a stimulating environment for people living with dementia. The design of the building gave people the opportunity to access a number of communal areas.

Staff told us that they felt supported in their role and were confident in what they did. We saw that staff had the opportunity to attend training for their role on a regular basis.

Quality assurance systems were in place to monitor the service provided to people. This showed that the provider carried out regular checks on the quality and management at the home to help them understand and improve the service that people received.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 21 May 2015

The service was not always safe.

The management of medicines was not always safe and required some improvement in relation to the management of stock and ordering of medicines.

People told us they felt safe living at the home.

Safeguarding procedures were in place and staff had received training in safeguarding people. Staff showed a good awareness of these procedures.

Effective

Good

Updated 21 May 2015

The service was effective.

Records demonstrated that people’s rights in relation to the Mental Capacity Act 2005 were adhered to.

People received regular support from local health care professionals.

The living environment for people living with dementia was planned to provide a stimulating environment.

Caring

Good

Updated 21 May 2015

The service was caring.

Staff were kind and patient when supporting people with their needs.

People told us that they were supported in a manner that respected their privacy and maintained their dignity.

Responsive

Good

Updated 21 May 2015

The service was responsive.

People’s care and support was planned in a person centred manner.

St Helens Hall and Lodge supported people to maintain their independence.

People’s personal records were appropriately stored to protect their personal information.

Well-led

Good

Updated 21 May 2015

The service was well-led.

Staff felt supported in their role and were confident in what they did.

Quality assurance systems were in place to monitor the service provided to people.