You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 10 June 2017

We carried out a comprehensive inspection of this service on the 25 April 2016, and a number of breaches to the legal requirements were found. After the inspection the provider told us what action they would take. We undertook a further inspection on the 4 May 2017 and found that the provider had made improvements and the legal requirements were now being met.

Rosebelle provides accommodation for up to six people who may have a learning disability or mental health support needs. At the time of our inspection there were five people using the service.

At the last inspection we asked the registered manager to improve the quality assurance and auditing system and the way they reviewed accidents and incidents. We asked them to look at how they could improve staff values, and levels of staff training. We recommended that the registered manager should implement infection control policies and procedures, and make sure that people had their nutritional requirements assessed. We asked the registered manager to involve people more and make improvements to the décor of the premises. At this inspection we found that these improvements had been made.

The registered manager looked at ways they could improve people’s safety by analysing themes and trends when accidents or incidents had occurred. They looked at different ways they could reduce risks to people.

The registered manager had implemented a quality assurance system and audits had been introduced and were being completed on a regular basis.

Medicine audits were carried out and staff with the responsibility for administering medicines had their practice observed to ensure that they could do this safely.

Since our last inspection, the registered manager had introduced a core set of values and staff told us these were dignity, self-determination, fulfilment, privacy and choice.

People’s information included guidance for staff so that they could follow a structured approach to recognising and managing certain health conditions. People were given nutritious meals and were involved with developing the menus.

The registered manager had improved their approach to managing the control and prevention of infection. Staff followed policies and procedures that met current and relevant national guidance.

Staff were given regular training in a wide range of topics and had a clear understanding of the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Some improvement's to modernise the décor of the communal areas had been completed since the last inspection. Other areas such as the bathroom and the garden area still needed some work which would be completed in the next six months.

The registered manager was present during our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the service is run.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 10 June 2017

This service was safe.

People were kept safe by staff that had been trained and knew how to recognise signs of abuse.

There were a sufficient amount of staff available to meet people’s needs.

People's medicines were stored appropriately and dispensed in a timely manner when people needed them.

Effective

Good

Updated 10 June 2017

This service was effective.

Staff were suitably trained and received regular supervision and appraisals.

People's dietary needs were met and people had access to health care if they required it.

The registered manager and staff understood the legal requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and the associated Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards.

Caring

Good

Updated 10 June 2017

This service was caring.

Staff treated people with compassion and respect.

Information was provided, including in accessible formats, to help people understand the care available to them.

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 June 2017

This service was responsive.

People's needs were assessed before they moved in and care plans reflected people’s needs.

People’s needs for social interaction were met and there was a wide variety of activities for people to participate in.

There was a complaints policy in place and people knew how to make a complaint.

Well-led

Good

Updated 10 June 2017

The service was well led.

The registered manager supported staff to carry out their role to the best of their ability.

A quality assurance system was in place and feedback about the quality of the service people received on a regular basis.

People and their families told us the registered manager was approachable and managed the service well.