You are here

The Georgians (Boston) Limited - 50 Wide Bargate Boston Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 22 August 2017

The inspection took place on 26 July 2017 and was unannounced.

The home provides residential and nursing care for up to 40 people. People using the home may be living with a dementia, mental health issues, conditions associated with old age, physical disabilities or sensory impairments.

There was not a registered manager for the home. However, the manager had submitted an application to become registered and this was being processed. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this home on 12 and 13 December 2016. A breach of legal requirements was found. After the comprehensive inspection, the provider wrote to us to say what they would do to meet legal requirements to ensure the home was well led.

We undertook this focused inspection to check that they had followed their plan and to check if they now met legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for The Georgians (Boston) Limited - 50 Wide Bargate Boston on our website at www.cqc.org.uk”

At this inspection we found the provider had made all of the improvements needed to meet the regulation. Systems in place to monitor the quality of care provided were effective and the manager had taken action to gather people’s views of the care they received and used them to improve the standard of care. In addition the manager had taken notice of our last report and had taken action to identify what the latest best practice guidance said and how this should be reflected in the care they provided to people.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 8 March 2017

The service was not consistently safe.

Risk assessments were in place and the care was safely provided. However, risk assessments had not been reviewed in line with the dates identified in people’s care plans.

Staffing levels meant that people’s care needs were not always supported in a timely manner.

Staff knew how to keep people safe from abuse and how to report any suspected abuse.

Medicines were administered safely and in a timely fashion.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 8 March 2017

The service was not consistently effective.

Staff received appropriate training and were happy to ask senior staff for support and guidance when needed.

People had been appropriately referred for assessment around their ability to decide where they lived. However, other areas of the mental capacity act had not been consistently applied.

People were supported to access food and drink safely. However, people with dementia did not always receive food which supported their independence.

Support and guidance had been sought from appropriate healthcare professionals when needed.

Caring

Requires improvement

Updated 8 March 2017

The service was not consistently caring.

People’s relationship with staff had been compromised due to the high number of agency staff used.

People’s dignity was not always supported when staff provided care.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 8 March 2017

The service was not consistently responsive.

Car plans contained the information staff needed to provide safe care. However, they did not contain information on how care could be personalised and people had not been involved in developing their care plans.

There were some activities available but people found they were not enough to support them to remain active and occupied.

People were not always sure about who they should complain to and there was a lack of communication when complaints had been investigated.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 22 August 2017

The service was well led.

Action had been taken to improve the systems in place to monitor and improve the quality of care in the home.

The manager had put systems in place to embed best practice into every day care.

The manager gathered the views of people using the service and used these to improve the care people received.

We could not improve the rating for well led from requires improvement because to do so requires consistent good practice over time. We will check this during our next planned comprehensive inspection.