You are here

New Year's Honours for David Behan and Rachel Griffiths

3 January 2017
  • Public

David Behan, Chief Executive of the Care Quality Commission, has been knighted in the New Year's Honours List.

Peter Wyman, Chair of CQC, said:

"This award recognises both a lifetime of achievement in public service and David's great leadership of the CQC as our chief executive. I congratulate him on his hugely well-deserved honour which reflects so well on David and, through him, the CQC."

David Behan said:

"I am proud and humbled to receive this honour. I began my career with a belief in the inherent dignity and equality of every person. This led to a lifelong commitment to social justice which is as strong today as it was 40 years ago. The best social care and health has the power to transform people's lives. I feel both lucky and privileged to have been able to serve the public in some wonderful roles over the years.

"All of us who work in health and social care are dependent on help and support from colleagues and team mates. I have worked with some outstanding people over the years and have been helped more than I can describe. Together we have worked to make a difference."

Rachel Griffiths, the Care Quality Commission's Mental Capacity Act Lead, has been made a MBE for services to vulnerable people.

Rachel has been at CQC since 2013. Her role supports CQC in ensuring that the Mental Capacity Act remains a key part of its strategy and policies, including its inspections. Rachel represents CQC in joint working with external national bodies to help drive improvement in health and social care and she is part of the Leadership Group of the National Mental Capacity Forum.

Rachel said:

"I am very honoured to receive this award. Alongside others, the focus of my work to embed the Mental Capacity Act in health and social care has been to ensure the rights of people who might lack mental capacity are protected, and that they receive the best possible care and treatment, within the empowering ethos of the MCA. I see this award as recognition of the importance of that work."

Last updated:
29 May 2017