You are here

Mental health and community health providers to be inspected from April

24 February 2014
  • Public

We have announced the second group of mental health and community health providers that will be inspected as part of our New approach to inspecting specialist mental health services.

The providers cover a broad range of sizes, specialisms and regions across England as we continue to develop our improved inspection model for mental health and community healthcare.

They are:

Community health providers

  • Cambridgeshire Community Health Services NHS Trust
  • Kent Community Health NHS Trust
  • Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Liverpool Community Health NHS Trust

Mental health providers

  • Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • Calderstones Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  • Camden and Islington NHS Foundation Trust
  • Avon and Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership NHS Trust
  • Surrey and Borders Partnership NHS Foundation Trust


  • Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Bradford District Care Trust
  • Humber NHS Foundation Trust

We will inspect the providers from April, and they follow the First eight mental health and community health NHS Trusts that we began inspecting in January.

By December 2015, we will have inspected every NHS Trust.

Each inspection will answer five questions about the service - are they:

  • safe?
  • caring?
  • effective?
  • well-led?
  • responsive to people’s needs?

Inspectors will then make a judgement about the quality and safety of the care people receive there.

The care will be rated as outstanding, good, requiring improvement or inadequate, and this will make our findings and judgements clearer than ever before.

Last updated:
29 May 2017