You are here

Local areas announced for mental health crisis care inspection

27 October 2014
  • Public

Today CQC moves into the next phase of its thematic review into the experiences and outcomes of people experiencing a mental health crisis as we publically announce the local areas that we will be carrying out inspections in.

These local area inspections will focus on people's experiences of mental health crisis care provided within an area covered by a single local authority. We are interested in how organisations within the local health economy works together to provide quality, safe and responsive services to people in crisis.

The fifteen local areas selected for inspection are:

  • Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Essex County Council
  • Kent County Council
  • London Borough of Ealing
  • London Borough of Lambeth
  • London Borough of Waltham Forest
  • North East Lincolnshire Council
  • Northamptonshire County Council
  • Oxfordshire County Council
  • Royal Borough of Windsor & Maidenhead
  • Salford Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Shropshire Council
  • Southampton City Council

These areas have been selected on the basis of a national data review but have also taken demographic and regional variation into account. The findings will be used to inform a national report into crisis care, which draws on all strands of CQC’s themed programme.

Inspection activity will be undertaken between November 2014 and February 2015.

You can read the letter announcing the sites for local area inspection here.

CQC is a national signatory of the Crisis Care Concordat, which was launched in February 2014. Our inspection activity is a key commitment under the Concordat and we will look to use this as a mechanism for driving improvement and understanding of crisis care at a national and local level.

You'll find more information on the review here.

Last updated:
29 May 2017