You are here

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 11 January 2011
Date of Publication: 9 February 2011
Inspection Report published 9 February 2011 PDF

Contents menu

People should be cared for by staff who are properly qualified and able to do their job (outcome 12)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by staff who are fit, appropriately qualified and are physically and mentally able to do their job.

How this check was done

Our judgement

We found no evidence that recruitment and selection procedures for workers were not effective. No gaps in assurance or areas of concern were identified during the assessment of this outcome for this location.

User experience

It was not possible to gain the direct views of people who use the service for this outcome on this review. Though not directly demonstrating the views of people who used the service the provider explained in the provider compliance assessment tool that a number of people who use services and carers have received recruitment and selection training alongside staff members to enable them to participate in the recruitment of staff into the organisation. The provider reported that “between September 2009 and September 2010, 78 recruitment panels have included a service user or carer and this figure will increase as more people who use services are trained to become involved in recruitment”.

Other evidence

The provider declared compliance with this outcome at this location at registration with CQC in April 2010. Our provider level QRP carried no concerns relating to this outcome. None of the external stakeholders referred to within outcome one who responded raised any areas of concern specifically relating to this location or outcome. In key finding 36 of the 2009 staff survey, 'staff recommendation of the trust as a place to work or receive treatment the trust was found to be in the highest 20% when compared with other NHS trusts nationally.

As part of the assessment of this location the provider submitted a detailed provider compliance assessment which explained how the provider was meeting the outcome. We found the provider had appropriate systems and processes in place that are required to meet this outcome with no identified gaps in assurance when this self assessment was reviewed.

Additional evidence was sought from the provider in the form of an annual team governance report for Rowan ward covering the period April 2009 to March 2010. The report included a section covering staffing we noted no areas of concern during the period covered by the report.