You are here

This service was previously managed by a different provider - see old profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 29 May 2013
Date of Publication: 11 July 2013
Inspection Report published 11 July 2013 PDF

Overview

Inspection carried out on 29 May 2013

During an inspection looking at part of the service

We completed this follow up inspection to check that the trust had acted on improvements that we said needed to be made after our inspection of 2 August 2012. The current inspection was delayed because the trust closed the ward on 31January 2013 so that it could be refurbished. The ward re-opened on 17 May 2013. Before it was re-opened the trust wrote to us and said that it had completed all of the necessary improvements.

During our inspection of 29 May 2013, patients said that they received all of the medical, nursing and personal care they needed. A patient said, �I really can�t speak too highly about the staff because they�re so helpful and kind�. Another patient said, �I feel that I�m in safe hands here and that they�ll get me home as soon as possible. I�ve seen the occupational therapist and she�s helping me with exercises to get better�.

We saw that patients were treated with dignity and respect. Records showed that there was a clear emphasis on rehabilitation with patients being supported to develop their independence.

Documents and records showed that patients� needs for medical, nursing and personal care had been assessed and that care had been delivered in a reliable and consistent way.

We saw that the ward was equipped with a modern call bell system and that patients promptly received help from staff when they called for assistance.