You are here

Archived: HMP Lincoln

This service was previously managed by a different provider - see old profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 18, 19 November 2013
Date of Publication: 14 December 2013
Inspection Report published 14 December 2013 PDF

People should get safe and appropriate care that meets their needs and supports their rights (outcome 4)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Experience effective, safe and appropriate care, treatment and support that meets their needs and protects their rights.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 18 November 2013 and 19 November 2013, observed how people were being cared for and checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care. We talked with people who use the service, talked with staff, reviewed information given to us by the provider and talked with other regulators or the Department of Health.

Our judgement

Care and treatment was planned and delivered in a way that was intended to ensure people's safety and welfare.

Reasons for our judgement

Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Trust is contracted to provide the primary health care services this includes: dentistry, podiatry, physiotherapy and mental health. The substance misuse service is not provided by the Trust.

We were told mental health services were provided by the mental health in-reach team provided by the Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Trust. The substance misuse service had been contracted out to another provider from 1 April 2013. We spoke to staff who said the working relationship between the Trust staff and substance misuse staff resulted in an effective service to people who used the service. We were told the mental health services operated an open referral system and that they aimed to assess the person on the same day they received the referral. If appropriate a doctor would progress the assessment. Anyone arriving at the prison with significant concerns or anyone known to the mental health services was automatically placed on this team’s case load.

We spoke with twelve people who used the service. They felt the care they received was good. One said; "this is better than some places I have been to." Another said "most nurses are good. It is okay." Another said; "Staff are brilliant." One person said they thought there were delays and problems with communication in obtaining their medical history from where they had previously been. They said; "You have to explain yourself all over again. That can be frustrating as the problem doesn't get sorted straight away." The people we spoke with expressed some dissatisfaction at the waiting times they had experienced. One person said; "We wait too long and we don't always know if we've got an appointment." We saw the older person's focus group meeting minutes of 5 November 2013 which confirmed these delays were due to a shortage of doctors as highlighted by people who used the service. We were told by staff there was no doctor available on a Friday or at weekends.

We saw people could attend a newly created health centre for health care appointments and clinics between 09.30am and 11.30am and 2:00pm and 3:45pm. This was run by the primary healthcare staff. There were no inpatient facilities at the health centre. We looked at the computer records to check waiting lists. The provider may find it useful to note we saw the waiting list to consult a GP on 19 November 2013 showed 109 people were waiting for an appointment and the waiting time was up to three weeks. We were told by healthcare management team that waiting times had improved since August 2013 following the recruitment of a part time medical officer, who was now available to support the work of the part time doctor. The dentist operated four sessions per week and we saw the longest a person would wait to see the dentist for a routine appointment was three weeks. Emergency dental appointments were prioritised. We were told there had been a longstanding problem with people not attending for their healthcare appointments. We saw it was now improving, as non-attendance rates had fallen from 26% to 12% in 2012-2013. We saw clinic lists that showed for 19 November 2013 from eight clinic appointments only three people had attended. When we spoke with people who used the service, some expressed frustration that they had been unable to attend their healthcare appointment due to a breakdown in communication or because prison procedures on the wings had delayed their attendance. We were aware there was an initiative to continue to improve communication and cooperation between prison and healthcare staff. For example most people who had medical appointments were escorted in groups over to the health centre at 8:30am ready for their appointments.

We were told health promotion clinics were held at the health centre and a clinic was held in the wing for older people on a Friday afternoon. We saw that healthcare staff had developed their roles so there were now specialists in areas such as elderly care, chronic diseas