You are here

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 1 March 2018

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 18 January 2018 to ask the service the following key questions; Are services safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this service was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations

Are services effective?

We found that this service was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations

Are services caring?

We found that this service was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations

Are services responsive?

We found that this service was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations

Are services well-led?

We found that this service was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations

Background

We carried out this inspection under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. This inspection was planned to check whether the service was meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Health and Social Care Act 2008.

Kings Private Clinic has four sites across London and Kent. We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at the location in Harrow, Middlesex on 18 January 2018. The service comprises of a reception area and consulting room on the ground floor of 65c Headstone Road. It is close to Harrow-on-the-Hill rail and tube station, and local bus stops. Parking in the local area is

limited and the clinic is wheelchair accessible. A toilet facility is available on the clinic premises.

The clinic is staffed by a receptionist and a doctor. There is also a receptionist who only works on Sundays. If for any reason, a shift is not filled by the doctor, a locum doctor from a bank of doctors is brought in. In addition, staff work closely with other staff based at the head office in Ilford. The service is open on Thursday 10am to 5pm and Sunday 10am to 12pm. Slimming and obesity management services are provided for adults over the age of 18 on a walk in basis.

Kings Private Clinic - Harrow has a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who is registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have a legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Patients completed CQC comment cards to tell us what they thought about the service. We received 12 completed cards and all were positive. We were told that the service was excellent, and that staff always made time to listen to people, were helpful and flexible.

Our key findings were:

  • The clinic appropriately refused treatment to those who were contra-indicated (for example had high blood pressure (BP) readings).
  • The feedback from patients was always positive about the care they received, the helpfulness of staff and the cleanliness of the premises.

There were areas where the provider could make improvements and should:

  • Only supply unlicensed medicines against valid special clinical needs of an individual patient where there is no suitable licensed medicine available, and provide patients with this information in the medicines information leaflets.
  • Review the need to carry out calibration testing at regular intervals on the blood pressure machine.
  • Review methods to encourage feedback from patients and show how patient feedback is driving improvements within the service.
  • Review how information is shared with other providers in order to keep people safe.
Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 1 March 2018

We found that this service was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The clinic had a system in place for reporting and recording significant events and incidents. The provider had appropriate arrangements in place to keep people protected and safeguarded from abuse. The clinic maintained appropriate standards of cleanliness and hygiene. We observed the premises to be visibly clean and tidy. The provider ensured that all medicines were dispensed and labelled appropriately.

We found areas where improvements should be made relating to the safe provision of treatment. This was because the provider did not have a process in place to calibrate the blood pressure machine at regular intervals.

Effective

Updated 1 March 2018

We found that this service was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

There were appropriate numbers of suitably trained and competent staff available at the clinic. The doctor working in the clinic had undergone revalidation.

Patients were provided with written information about medicines in the form of a patient information leaflet. However, the written information did not make it clear that the medicines were unlicensed or being used off label.

Caring

Updated 1 March 2018

We found that this service was providing caring services in accordance with

the relevant regulations.

Patients told us that the clinic

was excellent, always clean and that staff were supportive and flexible.

Responsive

Updated 1 March 2018

We found that this service was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We saw records of complaints that had been made. They were dealt with in a timely way and any learning shared with all staff. Staff felt confident to raise any concerns relating to suspected or actual abuse, poor practice, and knew how to whistle blow if needed.

Well-led

Updated 1 March 2018

We found that this service was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Staff at the clinic had appropriate arrangements to ensure good governance. Audits were conducted and the findings were used to drive improvement. Any learning was shared with all staff and there were clear roles and responsibilities to support good governance and management.