You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 7 July 2014
Date of Publication: 20 August 2014
Inspection Report published 20 August 2014 PDF

Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)

Not met this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 7 July 2014, observed how people were being cared for and checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care. We talked with people who use the service and talked with staff.

Our judgement

Staff had not received support to deliver care and treatment safely and to an appropriate standard.

Reasons for our judgement

We carried out an inspection at Eastbourne Grange on 23 April 2014 and 25 April 2014 when we also met with the provider. We found that staff had not been supported to deliver care and treatment safely and to an appropriate standard.

We issued a warning notice, which stated that the Care Quality Commission required Eastbourne Grange to have achieved compliance with the warning notice by 24 June 2014.

We carried out a further inspection on 7 July 2014 to ensure that concerns identified in the warning notice had been addressed. We saw that some improvements had been made in relation to staff training and supervision. We found that from the information gathered during the inspection the provider had met the requirements of the warning notices, although some of the processes required time to be fully embedded into practice.

We spoke with the appointee manager and other staff about the training they received. One member of staff told us, “We have had so much training recently.” We asked two further members of care staff about specific training they had received. They both told us they had undertaken infection control, moving and handling and fire safety training. We asked if they had received medication training. One person confirmed they had. The second person told us they had not but went on to explain that they did not administer medication so would not expect to have the training. A third member of staff also told us they had recently received medication training.

We looked at staff training certificates that were kept in staff files and information displayed in the main foyer. The certificates displayed showed a number of staff no longer in employment at the service. We compared these with a list of current staff employed at the home. There were currently twelve staff employed. At our inspection on 23 April 2014 we saw that four staff had received moving and handling training. At this inspection on 7 July 2014 we saw that all staff had received this training. This meant that staff had received the appropriate training to ensure the service met the moving and handling needs of people who lived at the home.

Staff we spoke with told us that those who administered medication had recently undertaken medication training. We did not see any certificates to confirm that training had taken place. The appointee manager explained that the training had taken place recently and the certificates had not yet been received. This meant that staff had received the appropriate training that ensured the safe and appropriate administration of medication.

At our inspection on 23 April 2014 no staff had received training in relation to infection control, first aid, fire or health and safety. At this inspection, 7 July 2014, we saw that nine staff had received infection control training, six staff had received first aid training and ten staff had received fire safety training. This meant that for day shifts, staff were supported by at least one staff member who had received appropriate training to ensure the service met the needs of the people who lived at the home.

We saw that there was only one member of staff on duty at night. We saw from the training certificates that one staff member who worked at night had not received fire safety, first aid, safeguarding vulnerable adults or infection control training. The appointee manager told us they were aware of this shortfall. They told us that this person was booked to attend further training. This meant that the provider had not ensured that all staff had received the appropriate training to meet the needs of people who lived at the home. This could leave people at risk of harm or injury through inappropriate care or treatment.

At our inspection on 23 April 2014, four staff had received safeguarding training. At this inspection, 7 July 2014, we saw, and were told by the appointee manager that no further safeguarding training had been undertaken. Due to some changes in staffing we saw that on