You are here

Eastbourne Grange Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 7 July 2014
Date of Publication: 20 August 2014
Inspection Report published 20 August 2014 PDF | 82.36 KB

Overview

Inspection carried out on 7 July 2014

During an inspection to make sure that the improvements required had been made

We carried out this inspection to follow up on warning notices issued as a result of concerns identified at the last inspection.

People we spoke with told us they were well supported by staff at the home. One person said, “This is the best place for me, I am able to live my life as independently as possible and have support in the areas that I need it.” Another person told us they were very happy, they were able to do what they liked throughout the day. They said, “The staff are lovely.” Someone else told us about the care they had just received from a member of staff. They told us how this had made them feel better about themselves.

We observed the interactions of staff with people who lived at the home. We saw that there was an open and friendly relationship. Staff spoke to people with kindness and respect. Staff that we spoke with knew people well and were able to tell us about their care.

At our previous inspection 23 April 2014 we found that staff had not received appropriate training or supervision. We issued a warning notice, which stated that the Care Quality Commission required Eastbourne Grange to have achieved compliance with the warning notice by 24 June 2014. We found that from the information gathered during the inspection 7 July 2014 the provider had met the requirements of the warning notices, although some of the processes required time to be fully embedded into practice. We judged this had a minor impact on people who lived at the home.

At our previous inspection 23 April 2014 we found that people were not protected from the risks of unsafe or inappropriate care and treatment because accurate records were not maintained.

We issued a warning notice, which stated that the Care Quality Commission required Eastbourne Grange to have achieved compliance with the warning notice by 24 June 2014. From the information gathered during the inspection 7 July 2014 we found that some improvements had been made in relation to records. However, the provider had not met the specific requirements of the warning notice.