You are here

Hebburn Dental Clinic (Riverdale Tradeco Limited) Also known as Riverdale Tradeco Limited

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

We have not inspected this service yet

Inspection summaries and ratings from previous provider


Overall summary & rating

Updated 12 November 2015

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 16 September 2015 to ask the practice the following key questions; Are services safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services effective?

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services caring?

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services responsive?

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Background

The practice is owned and run by the registered provider. The practice is located at 4 Park Street, Hebburn, Tyne and Wear, NE3 2UL The registered provider also runs a dental practice at the Pelaw Dental Clinic, 1 Musgrave Terrace, Pelaw, Gateshead, Tyne and Wear, NE10 0RH. Both practices provide primary care dental services under the NHS. Patients are able to attend either practice.

The practices are open as follows:

Hebburn Dental Clinic:

Monday, Tuesday and Friday 8:30am to 5:00pm

Wednesday and Thursday 8:30am to 5:30pm

Saturday 9:00am to 1:00pm (alternated with Pelaw Dental Clinic)

Pelaw Dental Clinic:

Monday to Friday 8:30am to 5:30pm

Saturday 9:00am to 1:00pm (alternated with Hebburn Dental Clinic)

Staff work at both practices. There are three dentists, three dental nurses, a trainee dental nurse and practice manager.

The owner of the practice is the registered provider for the practice. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the practice is run.

We also received 18 Care Quality Commission comment cards. All the comments were positive about the staff and the services provided. Comments included: they are always polite and friendly and always given excellent service.

Our key findings were:

  • There was an effective complaints system. Staff recorded complaints and cascaded learning to staff.
  • Staff had received safeguarding training, knew how to recognise signs of abuse and how to report it.
  • There were sufficient numbers of suitably qualified staff to meet the needs of patients.
  • Staff had been trained to manage medical emergencies.
  • Infection control procedures were in accordance with the published guidelines.
  • Patient care and treatment was planned and delivered in line with evidence based guidelines, best practice and current regulations.
  • Patients received clear explanations about their proposed treatment, costs, benefits and risks and were involved in making decisions about it.
  • Patients were treated with dignity and respect and confidentiality was maintained.
  • The appointment system met patients’ needs.
  • The practice was well-led, staff felt involved and supported and worked well as a team.
  • The governance systems were effective.
  • The practice sought feedback from staff and patients about the services they provided.

There was an area where the provider could make improvements and should:

  • The registered provider should consider ensuring that all dentists use rubber dams in accordance with guidance issued by the British Endodontic Society.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 12 November 2015

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had effective systems and processes in place to ensure that all care and treatment was carried out safely. For example, there were systems in place for infection control, clinical waste control, management of medical emergencies and dental radiography.

Staff had received training in safeguarding patients and knew how to recognise the signs of abuse and how to report them. Staff had also received training in infection control. There was a decontamination room and guidance for staff on effective decontamination of dental instruments.

Staff were appropriately recruited and suitably trained and skilled to meet patients’ needs and there were sufficient numbers of staff available at all times. Staff induction processes were in place and had been completed by new staff.

We reviewed the legionella risk assessment which was dated September 2015, and no concerns were identified.

Effective

No action required

Updated 12 November 2015

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Consultations were carried out in line with best practice guidance from the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). For example, patients where recalled after an agreed interval for an oral health review, during which their medical histories and examinations were updated and any changes in risk factors noted.

On joining the practice, patients underwent an assessment of their oral health and were asked to provide a medical history. This information was used to plan patient care and treatment. Patients were offered options of treatments available and were advised of the associated risks and benefits. Patients were provided with a written treatment plan which detailed the treatments considered and agreed together with the fees involved.

Patients were referred to other specialist services in a timely manner.

Staff were registered with the General Dental Council (GDC) and maintained their registration by completing the required number of hours of continuing professional development (CPD) activities.

Caring

No action required

Updated 12 November 2015

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had procedures in place for respecting patients’ privacy, dignity and providing compassionate care and treatment. If a patient needed to speak to a receptionist confidentially they would speak to them in the surgery or in a private room.

Comments on the 18 completed CQC comment cards we received included statements saying the staff were excellent, friendly, and professional.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 12 November 2015

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Patients could access routine treatment and urgent care when required. The practice offered daily access for patients experiencing dental pain which enabled them to receive treatment quickly.

The practice had a complaints process which was available to any patients who wished to make a complaint.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 12 November 2015

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Staff were supported through training and offered opportunities for development.

Staff reported that the registered provider was approachable and they felt supported in their roles and were freely able to raise any issues or concerns with them at any time. The culture within the practice was seen by staff as open and transparent. Staff told us that they enjoyed working there.

The practice regularly sought feedback from patients in order to improve the quality of the service provided.

The practice undertook various audits to monitor their performance and help improve the services offered. The audits included infection control, X-rays, clinical examinations and patients’ records.

The practice held regular staff meetings which were minuted and gave everybody an opportunity to openly share information and discuss any concerns or issues which had not already been addressed during their daily interactions.