You are here

Archived: Peel Precinct Surgery Inadequate

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Inadequate

Updated 9 June 2020

We undertook an announced comprehensive inspection of Peel Precinct Surgery (Dr Abubakr Shaikh), Carlton House, Canterbury Terrace, London, NW6 5DX on 29 May 2019 when the practice was rated inadequate overall (inadequate in safe, effective, responsive and well-led domains) and placed in special measures. At that inspection, due to significant safety concerns, we imposed an urgent suspension of the provider’s registration under Section 31 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008. The suspension took effect from 1 June 2019 to 14 November 2019. The provider appealed against the urgent suspension to the First Tier Tribunal (FTT) but subsequently withdrew their appeal before the hearing.

We then undertook an announced comprehensive inspection on 5 November 2019 to follow-up on the urgent suspension. At the inspection we found continued concerns in relation to high-risk medicines, controlled drugs, antibiotic prescribing, safeguarding systems and processes, proposed management of patient-related documentation, management of patient safety alerts, evidence-based guidance, patient recall systems, management of two-week wait referrals and monitoring of cervical screening. We issued a further suspension on 14 November 2019, effective 16 November 2019 to 2 May 2020, and a Notice of Proposal (NoP) to cancel the provider’s registration. The provider submitted representations to the NoP, but these were not upheld. A Notice of Decision (NoD) to cancel the provider’s registration was issued on 7 January 2020. The provider has appealed the NoD to First-Tier Tribunal, which is currently ongoing.

During the period of the suspension, the provider’s patient list was transferred a caretaker practice put in place by NHSE (London) commissioners to provide the service.

The full comprehensive report on the 29 May 2019 and 5 November 2019 inspections can be found by selecting the ‘reports’ link for Peel Precinct Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

At this inspection on 16 April 2020, we undertook an announced desk-based focused inspection to follow-up on the notice of suspension and subsequent NoD to cancel the provider’s registration. The provider submitted an action plan, but this did not relate to the specific concerns outlined in the suspension notice in relation to Regulation 17 (Good governance), was incomplete and did not include any supporting documentary evidence.

We continue to be concerned that the provider has made insufficient improvements. In particular we found continued concerns around the management of patients on high-risk medicines, controlled drugs and antibiotic prescribing, safeguarding systems and processes, proposed management of patient-related documentation, management of patient safety alerts, evidence-based guidance, patient recall systems, management of two-week wait referrals and monitoring of cervical screening.

We are mindful of the impact of COVID-19 pandemic on our regulatory function. This meant we took account of the exceptional circumstances arising as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic when considering what enforcement action was necessary and proportionate to keep people safe as a result of this inspection. We will continue to discharge our regulatory enforcement functions required to keep people safe and to hold providers to account where it is necessary for us to do so.

Details of our findings and the evidence supporting our decisions are set out in the evidence table.

Dr Rosie Benneyworth BM BS BMedSci MRCGP

Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care

Inspection areas

Safe

Inadequate

Effective

Inadequate

Caring

Good

Responsive

Inadequate

Well-led

Inadequate
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Inadequate

Families, children and young people

Inadequate

Older people

Inadequate

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Inadequate

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Inadequate

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Inadequate