You are here

Archived: Kingfisher Court Good

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 23, 25 June 2014
Date of Publication: 23 July 2014
Inspection Report published 23 July 2014 PDF

Overview

Inspection carried out on 23, 25 June 2014

During a routine inspection

At the time of our inspection, Kingfisher Court was providing accommodation, care and support to nine people with Acquired Brain Injury and associated neurological conditions. Some of the people using the service had complex needs which meant they were not all able to tell us their experiences. We observed the care and support being given and how staff interacted with people. We spoke with the registered manager, deputy manager, three support workers and one person who used the service. Following our inspection we spoke with two relatives of people who use the service in telephone conversations. We also looked at care and support records.

At the time of our inspection Kingfisher Court had two registered managers for this location. In this report the registered manager refers to Alexandra Downes.

This is a summary of what we found �

Is the service safe?

The service was safe. We saw guidance for staff about maintaining people�s dignity whilst care was provided. One relative we spoke with said: �I�m really happy with the care and support my relative receives. They have only been at Kingfisher Court a short while but they have come on in leaps and bounds�.

Specialist engineers visited annually to service and carry out maintenance works on equipment. Records demonstrated the passenger lift had undergone routine maintenance in March 2014. The five overhead hoists and one mobile hoist had been serviced in May 2014 in accordance with Lifting Operations and Lifting Equipment Regulations 1998 (LOLER). A fire risk assessment had been carried out 26 May 2014. This had highlighted three defects within the home which were addressed by the provider on 6 June 2014.

Support staff we spoke with told us that they felt the staffing levels were adequate to meet the needs of the people living at the service and they were managing their workload effectively. One person using the service said: �There is always plenty of staff around to help us�.

People's personal records including medical records were accurate and fit for purpose. All records we looked at provided up to date information and guidance on how best to meet people's care needs. We saw that medical appointments were recorded and that care plans had been updated to reflect changes in care that resulted from medical appointments.

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) monitors the operation of the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards which applies to care homes. Relevant staff had been trained to understand when an application should be made, and how to submit one. The registered manager was aware of recent changes to the legislation and was awaiting further guidance from the managing authority.

Is the service effective?

The service was effective. The four care plans that we examined had been reviewed within the previous 28 days. We saw that each person�s care had been reviewed by the registered manager with support workers healthcare professionals and the person receiving care.

Is the service caring?

The service was caring. We saw evidence that specific risk assessments had been completed for people based on individual needs that identified and the type and degree of support they required.

Is the service responsive?

The service was responsive. One person had been identified as at risk from developing pressure areas. We saw a plan had been put in place to reposition the person every two hours. We reviewed the care notes for this person for the previous two months prior to our inspection. Records demonstrated that the person was repositioned every two hours which included night time.

Is the service well led?

The service was well led. Support workers told us that before people came to live at Kingfisher Court the registered manager assessed their needs to ensure that the home and support workers could meet those needs. One support worker said: �As a team we focus our efforts on managing the adjustment that is sometimes necessary when people come into the home�.

The registered manager told us: �We communicate with people�s families regularly and if there are any problems we deal with them straight away. The annual satisfaction survey is an important means for us to check whether we are getting things right as far as relatives are concerned� This meant that there were processes in place to regularly seek people�s views on the care and support provided.