You are here

Archived: Swiss Cottage Care Home

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 2, 6 May 2014
Date of Publication: 5 June 2014
Inspection Report published 05 June 2014 PDF

Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)

Not met this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 2 May 2014 and 6 May 2014, observed how people were being cared for and talked with people who use the service. We talked with carers and / or family members, talked with staff and talked with commissioners of services.

Our judgement

People were cared for by staff who were provided with appropriate training. Further work was needed to ensure that the home’s supervision and appraisal system was fully embedded.

Reasons for our judgement

At our previous inspection on 22 November 2013 we required the home to make improvements in regards to supporting workers. This was because people were cared for by staff who had not always been supported to deliver care and treatment safely and to an appropriate standard.

The provider sent us an action plan which stated that they would make improvements and be compliant by 10 March 2014.

During our inspection we looked at the home’s training record. This showed that 88% of the staff had completed mandatory training. This enabled staff to provide care for people safely and to an appropriate standard. New staff completed an induction in line with the organisation’s induction procedure. We found that the induction training provided staff with the appropriate support to enable them to perform their responsibilities effectively.

Staff spoken with confirmed that they had undertaken training in health and safety, fire awareness, moving and handling, food hygiene, infection control, basic life support, conflict resolution, safeguarding of vulnerable adults, Deprivation of Liberty Safeguarding, equality and diversity and fire awareness. We saw evidence that training in dementia awareness had been rolled out for all the staff working at Swiss Cottage. The training was being facilitated by the home’s manager who was an accredited dementia trainer. It was evident that staff had been provided with the training required to support them to deliver care and treatment safely and to an appropriate standard.

We found that although staff had been provided with training none of the staff who had been employed at Swiss Cottage for more than a year had been appraised. The manager said that appraisals had been scheduled to take place during the month of May. The supervision matrix made available to us during our inspection reflected that a supervision framework had been introduced in January 2014. The manager said that the aim was to ensure that all staff received bi-monthly supervision. From the records seen it was evident that the supervision framework had not yet been fully embedded. For example out of the 66 staff currently working in the home only 10 staff had received bi-monthly supervision since January a further 13 staff had received one supervision session. It was evident that the supervision and appraisal framework had not yet been fully implemented. The risk that people were cared for by staff who had not always been supported to deliver care and treatment safely and to an appropriate standard had therefore been reduced to a minor impact. This was because work was still in progress to implement the supervision and appraisal framework fully.

All the staff we spoke with said that they felt supported by the new manager. They also said that they had recently been provided with updated training which had enabled them to deliver care and treatment safely and appropriately to people. A staff member said, “We have all been offered lots of training. The manager goes out of her way to tell us about the training available. Before I did not know what was going on.”