You are here

Inwood House Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

All reports

Inspection report


Date of Publication: 19 November 2014
Inspection Report published 19 November 2014 PDF

People should get safe and appropriate care that meets their needs and supports their rights (outcome 4)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Experience effective, safe and appropriate care, treatment and support that meets their needs and protects their rights.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service.

Our judgement

Care and treatment was planned and delivered in a way which was intended to ensure people's health, welfare and safety.

Reasons for our judgement

In our inspection of 7 August 2014 we found that care and treatment was not always planned and delivered in a way that was intended to ensure people's safety and welfare.

Some important risk issues such as mobility were not included in the short care plans. The descriptions of how staff were to keep people safe were lengthy and complex. Some risk assessments lacked detail and did not contain the necessary information to minimise risks to people. Well - being charts were not always completed consistently. Health care records were not always easy to follow, accurate or up-to-date. The home dealt appropriately with any unexplained bruising but did not always look into or record how it may have occurred. Behaviour plans were not detailed enough to support staff in the safest way of dealing with distressing or harmful behaviours.

We asked the provider to send us a report by 13 September 2014 to tell us what action they were going to take to meet the compliance action made. The provider wrote to us on 28 August and told us that they had completed some actions and were going to be fully complaint by 26 September 2014.

They sent us new documents and guidelines they had introduced to ensure recording was accurate. These included an unexplained injury report document which included a specific area to record the investigation and outcome . A medical history form to make it clear the results of health visits and any follow up appointments that were necessary. Detailed information about what action staff should take in the event of an individual’s behaviour deteriorating was produced as a behavioural flow chart. We saw team meeting minutes where the outcome of the inspection and the actions taken as a result were discussed, in detail. Staff were asked if they fully understood the improvements and it was stressed that they had to be maintained.

The provider told us they were going to review all risk assessments by 26 September 2014 and ensure fluid charts were re-designed by 5 September 2014.

On the 21 October 2014 the registered manager sent us evidence that they had completed the actions they had described in their report of 28 August 2014. We saw two completed risk assessments which included use of inhalers and anxiety. There was a section which detailed how staff were to support people to minimise the identified risks. We were sent samples of the new food and fluid charts which had been in use since September 2014. The charts included detailed instructions of how they were to be completed. The two samples we saw were completed accurately.