You are here

Archived: Options Health Care Services

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

This service is now registered at a different address - see new profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 16 June 2014
Date of Publication: 21 August 2014
Inspection Report published 21 August 2014 PDF

Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)

Not met this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 16 June 2014, checked how people were cared for at each stage of their treatment and care and talked with carers and / or family members. We reviewed information given to us by the provider.

Our judgement

People were cared for by staff who were not supported to deliver care and treatment safely or to an appropriate standard.

Reasons for our judgement

In January 2014, as a result of concerns raised with us the by the Local Authority, we made a formal, statutory request for information from the provider in accordance with Section 65 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (HSCA). We asked how the provider intended to develop the service and specifically we asked for an explanation about how the provider intended to recruit, competency assess and train any new staff to meet the needs of the service users.

The provider responded to us by letter in February 2014 stating that all employees undertook an intensive training programme. The provider stated that all employees completed an induction process and that this was three days for newly recruited staff with previous experience in the care sector and a week for new staff with no previous experience.

At our inspection on 16 June 2014 we looked at training records and supervision records for the five staff that were employed by Options Health Care Services.

We found that records of supervision from March 2014 identified that training in common induction standards, health and safety and infection control had not been provided for staff members.

We found that four of the five staff members had not been provided with induction training that took account of recognised standards within the sector and was relevant to their role.

We found that three of the five staff members had not received training in the basic core areas such as safeguarding of vulnerable adults, health and safety and the control of infection.