You are here

Cricklewood GP Health Centre Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 12 January 2018

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Cricklewood GP Health Centre on the 17 January 2017. The overall rating for the practice was Good. The rating for the effective domain was requires improvement. The full comprehensive report on the 17 January 2017 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Cricklewood GP Health Centre on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 8 November 2017 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 17 January 2017. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

Overall the practice is now rated as Good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • The practice had ensured that all staff had received basic life support, child protection, infection control, fire safety, mental capacity act and information governance training relevant to their role.

  • The practice had now ensured that all staff had received an annual appraisal to enable them to carry out the duties that they are employed to perform.

  • Since May 2017, patients have had online access to book appointments and order prescriptions.

At our previous inspection on 17 January 2017, we rated the practice as requires improvement for providing effective services as the practice had not ensured that all staff were appropriately trained and appraised in order to carry out the responsibilities of their role. At this inspection we found arrangements for both training and appraising staff were robust and effective, therefore ensuring that staff had the skills, knowledge and experience to deliver effective care and treatment. Consequently, the practice is rated as good for providing effective services.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP

Chief Inspector of General Practice


Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 24 April 2017

The service is rated as good for providing safe services.

  • There was an effective system in place for reporting and recording significant events
  • Lessons were shared to make sure action was taken to improve safety in the service.
  • When things went wrong patients received reasonable support, truthful information, and a written apology. They were told about any actions to improve processes to prevent the same thing happening again.
  • The service had clearly defined and embedded systems, processes and practices in place to keep patients safe and safeguarded from abuse; however we found that three out of six non-clinical staff had not undertaken child protection training relevant to their role.
  • Risks to patients were assessed and well managed; however some of the staff had not undertaken mandatory training.

Effective

Good

Updated 12 January 2018

The practice is rated as good for providing effective services.

  • Mandatory training updates for safeguarding children, fire safety, basic life support and information governance had been undertaken.
  • Systems were in place to ensure that the learning needs of both clinical and non clinical staff were identified through a system of appraisal.

Caring

Good

Updated 24 April 2017

The service is rated as good for providing caring services.

  • Data from the national GP Patient Survey showed patients rated the service at or below average for many aspects of care.
  • Patients said they were treated with compassion, dignity and respect and they were involved in decisions about their care and treatment.
  • Information for patients about the services available was easy to understand and accessible.
  • We saw staff treated patients with kindness and respect, and maintained patient and information confidentiality.

Responsive

Good

Updated 24 April 2017

The service is rated as good for providing responsive services.

  • Service staff reviewed the needs of its local population and engaged with the NHS England Area Team and Clinical Commissioning Group to secure improvements to services where these were identified.
  • Patients said they found it easy to make an appointment with a named GP and there was continuity of care, with urgent appointments available the same day.
  • The service had good facilities and was well equipped to treat patients and meet their needs.
  • Information about how to complain was available and easy to understand and evidence showed the service responded quickly to issues raised. Learning from complaints was shared with staff and other stakeholders.

Well-led

Good

Updated 24 April 2017

The service is rated as good for being well-led.

  • The service had a clear vision and strategy to deliver high quality care and promote good outcomes for patients. Staff were clear about the vision and their responsibilities in relation to this.
  • There was a clear leadership structure and staff felt supported by management. The service had a number of policies and procedures to govern activity and held regular governance meetings.
  • There was an overarching governance framework which supported the delivery of the strategy and good quality care. This included arrangements to monitor and improve quality and identify risk.
  • The provider was aware of and complied with the requirements of the Duty of Candour. The GP encouraged a culture of openness and honesty.
  • The service proactively sought feedback from staff and patients, which it acted on; however the service had no Patient Participation Group.
  • There was a strong focus on continuous learning and improvement at all levels.
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 12 January 2018

The practice is rated as good for the care of people with long term conditions. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 12 January 2018

The practice is rated as good for the care of families, children and young people. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

Older people

Good

Updated 12 January 2018

The practice is rated as good for the care of older people. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 12 January 2018

The practice is rated as good for the care of working age people. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 12 January 2018

The practice is rated as good for the care of people experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia). As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 12 January 2018

The practice is rated as good for the care of people whose circumstances may make them vulnerable. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.