You are here

Archived: Addaction - Rugby

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 28 September 2017

  • Addaction Rugby had made improvements to the building to provide a confidential space for the needle exchange and an area that was compliant with infection control principles in which to store its clinical waste bins.

  • Staff checked all areas for cleanliness and local Addaction management had appointed a member of staff as the health and safety lead. This individual was responsible for ensuring that medical equipment was calibrated as per manufacturer’s guidance. They also liaised with the company responsible for cleaning the building to ensure standards were met. Fire safety assessments had been undertaken and there were a number of individuals who were nominated to act as fire wardens. Their details were posted around the service and next to an up to date evacuation plan specific to the building.

  • Staff morale had improved and staff stated that they felt that managers and team leaders were a visible presence around the service. Staff stated that they felt supported by their managers and team leaders and that they were happy in their work.

  • A process had been identified to ensure that notifications were made to the Care Quality Commission when required. This had identified key personnel who were responsible for ensuring that notifications were made.

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 28 September 2017

We do not currently rate standalone substance misuse services.

During the inspection on the 23rd July 2017, we found that Addaction Rugby had fully met the requirement notices in relation to Regulation 15 Health and Social Care Act (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2010 Safety and suitability of premises, Regulation 18 CQC (registration) regulations (2009) and Regulation 12 Health and Social Care Act (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 Safe care and treatment.

There was a system in place to ensure that notifications were made to the CQC when required. Cleaning schedules had been created and an individual had been nominated to monitor cleaning in the building. The area that housed the clinical waste had been resurfaced with laminate flooring in line with infection control guidance. All medical equipment had been calibrated and all items checked had in date calibration stickers. A stable door had been fitted in front of the main office door to prevent clients from walking into the office while still enabling them to have contact with staff. Fire risk assessments had been undertaken and there were notices up giving information about fire wardens and evacuation procedures. A system was in place for managers to provide post incident debrief for staff. The environmental risk assessment contained a section that considered ligature risks.

Further detail is provided in the detailed section below.

Effective

Updated 28 September 2017

We do not currently rate standalone substance misuse services.

We did not inspect this aspect of the service

Caring

Updated 28 September 2017

We did not inspect this aspect of the service.

The window in the needle exchange clinic had been fitted with an opaque film to provide confidentiality to clients using the service.

Further detail is provided in the detailed section below.

Responsive

Updated 28 September 2017

We do not currently rate standalone substance misuse services.

We did not inspect this aspect of the service.

Well-led

Updated 28 September 2017

We do not currently rate standalone substance misuse services.

We found that staff morale was improved. Staff felt that managers listened to them and acted on their concerns as a result of changes of staffing at management level. There was a system in place for managers to undertake debrief with staff after an incident. Although the manager’s office was still located on the second floor, staff told us that managers were more visible within the service and that they were always available when they needed them. The manager was aware that there had been an issue with staff morale and was able to talk us through the steps they had taken to address this.

Checks on specific services

Substance misuse services

Updated 19 October 2016

Substance misuse services

Updated 28 September 2017

Start here...