You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 15 June 2020

We undertook a desk-based follow-up inspection of 8 June 2020. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was undertaken by a CQC inspector as desk-based review.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of Leven Vale Dental Practice on 12 November 2019 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was not providing well led care and was in breach of regulations 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Leven Vale Dental Practice on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions are not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the areas where improvement was required.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breach we found at our inspection on 12 November 2019.

Background

Leven Vale Dental Practice is in Yarm and provides NHS and private dental treatment to adults and children.

The practice is in a purpose-built ground floor premises. There is level access for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs. Car parking spaces are available near the practice.

The dental team includes a principal dentist, an associate dentist, three foundation dentists, a visiting dentist with a special interest in endodontics, a dental hygiene therapist, seven dental nurses, a practice manager and receptionist.

The practice is owned by an individual who is the principal dentist there. They have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run.

The practice is open: Monday to Thursday 9am to 5pm and Friday 9am to 4pm.

Our key findings were:

  • Systems for management of manual cleaning of instruments had improved..
  • Improvements had been made to the access to medical emergency drugs and equipment.
  • Systems were in place for the checking of staff’ immunity to Hepatitis B.
  • Staff safeguarding training is in place and complete.
  • Systems had been implemented to improve overall management and governance systems at the practice.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 19 December 2019

Effective

No action required

Updated 19 December 2019

Caring

No action required

Updated 19 December 2019

Responsive

No action required

Updated 19 December 2019

Well-led

No action required

Updated 15 June 2020