You are here

Archived: Castle Park

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 16, 17 April 2014
Date of Publication: 24 May 2014
Inspection Report published 24 May 2014 PDF | 90.62 KB

The service should have quality checking systems to manage risks and assure the health, welfare and safety of people who receive care (outcome 16)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Benefit from safe quality care, treatment and support, due to effective decision making and the management of risks to their health, welfare and safety.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 16 April 2014 and 17 April 2014, observed how people were being cared for and talked with people who use the service. We talked with carers and / or family members, talked with staff, reviewed information sent to us by local groups of people in the community or voluntary sector and used information from local Healthwatch to inform our inspection.

Our judgement

The provider had an effective system to regularly assess and monitor the quality of service that people receive.

Reasons for our judgement

People who use the service, their representatives and staff were asked for their views about their care and treatment and they were acted on. People we spoke with told us they would discuss any concerns with staff or the manager and felt they could air their views when they wished. We saw a meeting of people using the service had occurred shortly after out last visit in January 2014. Information we received from a visit undertaken by Healthwatch in January 2014 confirmed this. We saw action had been taken about comments made by people; for example, people had commented that they sat in the dining room for too long after meals and we saw this had been addressed. A staff member we spoke with also confirmed that any suggestions and comments people made were discussed with the manager. We also there was a meeting for relatives on the day of our inspection visit and we saw the record of this. This meant people using the service and their families were listened to and their comments acted on.

Our previous visit in January 2014 identified that the provider had well established quality assurance procedures that included monthly audits of key records such as medication records, regular meetings with staff, reviews of the support people using the service received and a clear complaints procedure. Records we saw on this inspection visit confirmed that audits of medication records were up to date. The area manager also undertook monthly quality visits and identified areas for actions. Our previous inspection visit saw that identified issues such as inadequate recording on flood and fluid charts had been addressed and we saw that improvements in this area had been maintained on this inspection visit. This meant the quality assurance processes in place were effective and led to improvements in the quality of care provided.

The manager told us that a survey for people using the service had recently been undertaken and we looked at eight surveys that had been returned. Generally, feedback was good and compliments had been received. One compliment made reference to the manager and stated that she was very caring and helpful and would discuss any problems.

Our previous inspection visit in January 2014 established that staff meetings were held regularly and staff we spoke with on this inspection visit confirmed this and said they were useful. This meant that staff were able to contribute to the running of the service.