You are here

Archived: Castle Park

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 16, 17 April 2014
Date of Publication: 24 May 2014
Inspection Report published 24 May 2014 PDF | 90.62 KB

There should be enough members of staff to keep people safe and meet their health and welfare needs (outcome 13)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by sufficient numbers of appropriate staff.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 16 April 2014 and 17 April 2014, observed how people were being cared for and talked with people who use the service. We talked with carers and / or family members, talked with staff, reviewed information sent to us by local groups of people in the community or voluntary sector and used information from local Healthwatch to inform our inspection.

Our judgement

There were enough qualified, skilled and experienced staff to meet people’s needs.

Reasons for our judgement

We received mixed feedback from people using the service about the availability of staff. One person said “They are short staffed” and another told us “The staff are very good, they work hard” and confirmed they did not have to wait long for assistance.

We received information from a Healthwatch report based on their visit in January 2014 that indicated potential issues with availability of staff. For example, it was reported that there was sometimes too long a wait for assistance to use the toilet and that on occasions there were only three care staff on duty in the afternoons. The report also received comments from staff via surveys and all three staff surveys received commented there were insufficient care staff to meet people’s needs. One staff member felt they had enough time to fulfil their duties.

Staff we spoke with during this inspection visit told us they thought there were enough staff on duty to meet people’s needs. One member of staff said “Everybody helps, we work as a team” and another said they usually managed to cover any absences from within the staff team.

Our observation during this inspection visit showed us that there were sufficient staff on duty and requests for assistance were responded to in a timely manner.

We looked at the staff rota for the weeks 31 March 2014 – 20 April 2014. This showed us there was a qualified nurse on duty on all shifts and five care staff designated for the morning shift and four for the afternoon shift. This was consistent with the number of staff available during this inspection visit and in line with the provider's assessment tool used to determine the number of staff required. However, the provider should note we saw on six occasions during this period that the shift had operated with one carer less than the number designated. The manager told us this was because the service had been unable to obtain cover from the existing staff team at short notice.