You are here

Archived: Millingdale House

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 26 October 2011
Date of Publication: 20 December 2011
Inspection Report published 20 December 2011 PDF

Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)

Not met this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff.

How this check was done

Our judgement

People received support from staff that had not undertaken essential training and this could mean that they did not have the necessary skills to deliver care safely and competently.

User experience

We did not speak to people living at the home about this outcome.

Other evidence

The manager told us that all staff who had responsibility for the administration of medication had undertaken refresher training during 2011. We saw evidence that seven staff had undertaken fire training in June 2011 and some staff had started an eight week course on safeguarding adults from abuse and on food hygiene during 2011.

We checked the training records for five care workers. For three of these people, there was no information about moving and handling training on record; one had completed the training in 2003 and another in 2010. The manager told us that staff had undertaken this training in December 2010 but the trainer had not sent the certificates to the home. The manager had undertaken this training in March 2009 and training was booked for the full staff team at the end of November 2011.

No staff had undertaken training during the last five years on first aid, health and safety or infection control although the manager had attended First Aid (Appointed Person) training in February 2009. The manager had also completed training on safeguarding adults from abuse and the deprivation of liberty safeguards.

Some care staff at the home had achieved National Vocational Qualification (NVQ) Level 2 or 3 in Care.

None of the staff records we viewed contained information about induction training and the manager acknowledged that new staff did not undertake induction training that met Skills for Care requirements.

Records did not contain information about staff supervision and the manager told us that staff had not had any supervision meetings in 2011. However, the manager did work alongside staff on a day to day basis and it was evident that they discussed work practices, training needs and service user issues on a day to day basis.