You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 24 June 2016

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection of this practice on 17 November 2015. A breach of legal requirements was found. After the comprehensive inspection, the practice wrote to us to say what they would do to meet legal requirements in relation to the breach.

We undertook this focused inspection to check that they had followed their plan and to confirm that they now met legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for Wigmore Dental Clinic on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Background

Wigmore Dental Clinic is a private dental practice situated in the Wigmore area of Luton.

The practice is open from 9.00 am to 6.15 pm Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. The practice is closed on Wednesday.

The principal dentist is registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) as an individual. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the practice is run.

The CQC inspected the practice on 17 November 2015 and asked the provider to make improvements regarding equipment maintenance and conscious sedation. We checked these areas as part of this desk based inspection and found this had been resolved.

Our key findings were:

  • The practice had implemented a system whereby any report from servicing or testing of equipment be logged as a significant event. This ensured that both clinician and practice manager be informed and there is no chance of an oversight.

  • The practice was not performing conscious sedation (these are techniques in which the use of a drug or drugs produces a state of depression of the central nervous system enabling treatment to be carried out, but during which verbal contact with the patient is maintained throughout the period of sedation).
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 3 March 2016

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice was carrying out effective infection control procedures, as described in the ‘Health Technical Memorandum 01-05 (HTM 01-05): Decontamination in primary care dental practices.’ Published by the Department of Health.

The practice was not compliant with the Ionising Radiation Regulations 1999. Critical examination packs that had been carried out to test the X-ray equipment in April 2014 had shown that the two intra-oral X-ray units had failed on equipment performance and patient dose. In addition there was no Radiation Protection Advisor appointed to the practice. This person is usually a medical physicist and is required to advise on matters pertaining to ionising radiation. Following inspection these concerns have been addressed and rectified.

Emergency medicines were checked and stored appropriately, but some pieces of emergency equipment were missing including an automated external defibrillator (AED). An AED is a portable electronic device that analyses life threatening irregularities of the heart and delivers an electrical shock to attempt to restore a normal heart rhythm. Following our visit we have received evidence that this has been acquired.

Staff we spoke with had a good understanding of the signs of abuse and neglect and were confident to raise a concern should the situation arise.

Effective

No action required

Updated 3 March 2016

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The dentist kept accurate, contemporaneous records of patient care.

Oral assessment tools were routinely used to discover dental disease which may not be obvious initially.

Dental care records indicated that an assessment of patients’ oral hygiene was made and oral hygiene instruction given to patients when indicated.

Caring

No action required

Updated 3 March 2016

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We observed staff were friendly, kind and considerate, with efforts made to accommodate the individual needs of the patients.

Feedback we received from patients commented on how they were put at ease by the team, and how they felt involved in their care.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 3 March 2016

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice demonstrated an appointments system that met the needs of the patients. Emergency patients were generally fitted in on the same day.

The practice invited comments from patients and visitors and had responded to feedback from patients to alter the opening hours.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 24 June 2016

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had a schedule of servicing and maintenance for equipment in the practice.

Maintenance reports were logged as significant events.

The practice was not carrying out conscious sedation.