You are here

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 26 September 2013
Date of Publication: 25 October 2013
Inspection Report published 25 October 2013 PDF | 69.26 KB

People should get safe and appropriate care that meets their needs and supports their rights (outcome 4)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Experience effective, safe and appropriate care, treatment and support that meets their needs and protects their rights.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 26 September 2013, observed how people were being cared for and talked with staff. We reviewed information given to us by the provider.

Our judgement

Care and treatment was planned and delivered in a way that was intended to ensure people's safety and welfare.

Reasons for our judgement

People’s needs were assessed and care and treatment was planned and delivered in line with their individual treatment plan. During our inspection on 6 August 2013 we saw that treatment plans were in place and people’s medical histories were recorded and kept up to date.

During our inspection on 6 August 2013 we found that the practice did not have any of the emergency equipment or medication recommended as a minimum by the Resuscitation Council UK. At our inspection on 26 September 2013 we saw that the dentist had a case of emergency medication and most of the required equipment, such as a self-inflating oxygen bag and mask. The dentist told us they had ordered an oxygen tank and we saw an email confirming this from the company concerned. This was due to arrive shortly. The dentist sent us evidence immediately following the inspection confirming they had purchased the remaining recommended items of emergency equipment and medication.

The dentist had not taken any additional training since our inspection on 6 August 2013. However, he told us that he had undertaken training in basic life support and although the dentist could not show us the certificates, he could describe what they would do. These findings indicate that, should a patient collapse in the surgery, the dentist would know what action to take.