You are here

Archived: The Movement Centre

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 1 March 2017

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 15 November 2016 to ask the service the following key questions; Are services safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this service was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services effective?

We found that this service was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services caring?

We found that this service was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services responsive?

We found that this service was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found that this service was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 1 March 2017

We found that the service was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Staff followed clear processes in place to safeguard children from harm or abuse. Staff knew how to recognise and raise concerns about abuse.

Pre-employment checks were completed to ensure staff were suitable to work with children.

There were sufficient numbers of trained staff provided at each clinic appointment to meet the needs of the children.

The environment was clean and hygienic and equipment was maintained by the Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Hospital (RJAH) maintenance team.

Although no incidents had been reported, we were assured that staff knew how to report concerns.

Effective

Updated 1 March 2017

We found that this service was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Evidence provided showed that by completing a ‘Targeted Training’ course a child was more likely to gain functional skills than with conventional physiotherapy alone. The provider maximised children’s quality of life through enabling life-changing functional skills.

At each eight-week appointment, staff reviewed goals set with the child they were seeing; new goals were set and staff monitored completion of goals.

The manager completed annual staff appraisals, collaborating with staff to set objectives and personal goals.

Children’s’ records were in paper format and electronic. Paper records were secure and electronic records were password protected.

We saw that staff gained written consent from patients’ parents or carers prior to commencing treatment.

Caring

Updated 1 March 2017

We found that this service was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Staff treated children and their families with dignity, respect, and empathy.

Families were very involved in the decisions about their child’s treatment. Staff were clear with families how they would need to support their child with their treatment programme at home.

Responsive

Updated 1 March 2017

We found that this service was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Access and treatment was available for all children who met the criteria for the treatment therapy.

Staff started treatment as soon as funding was in place. Children did not have to wait.

The service had received no complaints in the previous 12 months.

Well-led

Updated 1 March 2017

We found that this service was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Governance arrangements were in place and staff knew about the service’s vision and mission.

The manager monitored risks to the service. The manager regularly met with the staff team and trustees to review the risk register in order to reduce or remove risks and implement improvements.

Leadership was open and transparent. Staff felt supported in their roles. The trustees, manager and staff were committed to continuous learning and improvement.

Staff sought family feedback and acted upon this.

Checks on specific services

Community health services for children, young people and families

Updated 1 March 2017