You are here

We Care Solutions Chorlton Requires improvement

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 6 February 2021

About the service

We Care Solutions Chorlton is a domiciliary care provider based in Manchester and provides personal care to adults and older people in their own homes. At the time of our inspection the service supported 44

people.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found.

At the last inspection in June 2020 we found there were breaches of five regulations. At this inspection we found the registered person had taken positive steps and implemented systems to improve the quality and

safety of the service provided.

People received care and support that was personalised. A new care planning framework had been introduced. The provider has started the process of re-assessing people’s care planning documentation in order to ensure this fully captured people’s needs. We found steady progress has already been made with the service due to complete this process by the end of February 2021.

There were enough care staff to meet people's needs. Maintaining safe staffing levels had been a challenge at our previous inspection. However, the service has reduced in size and implemented a robust call monitoring system that supported call scheduling.

Medicines were administered in a safe manner. Systems were in place, which monitored how the service operated and ensured staff delivered appropriate care and treatment.

Since our last inspection we found the provider has completed a full-service review of their training resources provided to staff. Feedback from staff during the inspection indicated the training on offer was much improved.

The provider brought in an external consultant to support the service with the necessary improvements. The provider and management team understood that the systems and processes that were now in place were relatively new and further time was needed to ensure that they were fully embedded, and sustained. We will check that improvements made have been sustained at our next planned comprehensive inspection.

People benefited from an improved quality assurance system being in place. This meant that the registered person's oversight of all the service's functions, including recruitment, training, medicines management and

care planning was now more robust.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection

The last rating for this service was inadequate (08 September 2020). At this inspection we found the registered person had made improvements and the provider was no longer in breach of regulations in relation to the service provided to the seven people who currently use the service.

This service has been in Special Measures since 8 September 2020. During this inspection the registered person demonstrated that improvements have been made. The service is no longer rated as inadequate overall or in any of the key questions. Therefore, this service is no longer in Special Measures.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for We Care Solutions Chorlton on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Why we inspected

This was a planned inspection based on the previous rating of inadequate. As part of this inspection we also assessed whether the provider had taken the actions necessary to meet the regulation breaches identified

at the last inspection. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we undertook a focused inspection to only review the key questions of Safe and Well-led. Our report is only based on the findings in those areas reviewed at this inspection. The ratings from the previous comprehensive inspection for the Effective, Caring and Responsive key questions were not looked at on this occasion. Ratings from the previous comprehensive inspection for those key questions were used in calculating the overall rating at this inspection.

The overall rating for the service has changed from inadequate to requires improvement. This is based on the findings at this inspection.

Follow up

We will continue to monitor information we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 6 February 2021

The service was not always safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 6 February 2021

Caring

Good

Updated 6 February 2021

Responsive

Good

Updated 6 February 2021

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 6 February 2021

The service was not always well-led.

Details are in our well-led findings below.