You are here

Archived: Risley Prison - IDTS

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 2 December 2013
Date of Publication: 7 January 2014
Inspection Report published 07 January 2014 PDF

People should be given the medicines they need when they need them, and in a safe way (outcome 9)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Will have their medicines at the times they need them, and in a safe way.
  • Wherever possible will have information about the medicine being prescribed made available to them or others acting on their behalf.

How this check was done

We looked at the personal care or treatment records of people who use the service, carried out a visit on 2 December 2013, observed how people were being cared for and talked with people who use the service. We talked with staff and reviewed information given to us by the provider.

Our judgement

People were protected against the risks associated with medicines because the provider had appropriate arrangements in place to manage medicines.

Reasons for our judgement

We visited Risley Prison – Integrated Drugs Treatment Service (IDTS) on the 15 and 16 July 2013 and made a compliance action as we were concerned people who used the service were not sufficiently protected against the risks associated with medicines because the registered provider did not have appropriate arrangements in place to manage medicines.

We asked the registered provider to send us an action plan detailing what action they would take to become compliant. They sent us an action plan on the 14 August 2013.

We undertook a follow up inspection visit to Risley Prison – Integrated Drugs Treatment Service (IDTS) on the 2 December 2013 to see what action the registered provider had taken to become compliant.

We found since our last visit that the registered manager had put in place a number of measures to ensure the safe administration of medicines. This included an immediate medication audit, a review of medication records to deal with the omissions observed on records in July 2013, a review of staff training and the introduction of weekly medication audits.

We saw that where signature omissions were found on weekly audits this was dealt with individual staff members. We saw that following an improvement in medication administration records audit checks were done fortnightly and thereafter on a monthly basis.

Staff we spoke with said that they had attended team meetings to discuss safe medication administration procedures and they had updated their training in the administration and handling of controlled drugs. We saw evidence that nurses and health assistants had completed training and observational assessments of their competency to dispense and administer medication.

We spoke with a clinical lead from Crime Reduction Initiatives who told us that a monthly clinical governance meeting had been introduced and all nursing staff attended. The meeting was used to facilitate the clinical supervision of nurses’ and provided an opportunity for peer support.

We saw staff responsible for administering medication observe all prisoners take their medication as in line with CRI's policy on supervised consumption. We saw that when a prisoner wasn’t on the wing their medication was returned to a controlled drugs cabinet and arrangements were made for the prisoner to receive this later. This meant that arrangements were in place and were adhered to and this ensured that prisoners received their medication in a safe way.

We looked at medication administration records and saw that staff were now completing records appropriately. We found that records were completed in full and there were no gaps. This meant that a clear audit trail of medication administered to prisoners was available.

We saw that since our last inspection the registered provider had purchased a lockable bag which was clean and of a sufficient size to store all medication being transported across the site in a safe way.

We were told of a medication incident that had occurred at the service since our last inspection. The incident was identified during the dispensing of medication and was reported to the registered manager. We found that the registered provider took appropriate action to protect the prisoner concerned and took action to prevent such an incident occurring again. At the time of our inspection an investigation of the incident remained on-going.

We spoke with commissioners for the service. They told us that they met quarterly with the registered manager for the service. They told us they were satisfied with the service that was provided at HMP Risley and that the service had successfully put a number of prisoners through detox during their time in the prison. They said: “They (CRI) have done very well at HMP Risley. They provide a good service.”

We spoke with a representative from NHS England who told us that CRI provided a good service within HMP Risley and one that moved in line with the government’s recovery agenda for substance