You are here

Archived: Cheddleton Dental Surgery

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 23 December 2019

We undertook a follow-up focused inspection of Cheddleton Dental Surgery on 21 October 2019. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the provider to improve the quality of care, and to confirm whether the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who was supported by a specialist dental adviser.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of Cheddleton Dental Surgery on 12 December 2018 under section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. At a comprehensive inspection we always ask the following five questions to get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment:

• Is it safe?

• Is it effective?

• Is it caring?

• Is it responsive?

• Is it well-led?

We found the provider was not providing safe and well-led care and was in breach of regulations 12 and 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Cheddleton Dental Surgery on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

When one or more of the five questions are not met we require the provider to make improvements and send us an action plan. We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the areas in which improvement was required.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it safe?

• Is it well-led?

We visited the practice on 2 August 2019 to review the provider’s actions to date. We requested further evidence of improvements from the provider. We carried out a further desk-based review on 21 October 2019.

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breach we identified at our inspection on 12 December 2018.

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was not providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made insufficient improvements to address the shortfalls and respond to the regulatory breach we identified at our inspection on 12 December 2018.

Background

Cheddleton Dental Surgery is in Cheddleton and provides NHS and private dental care for adults and children.

There is level access for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs. Car parking spaces are available in the practice’s car park.

The dental team includes the principal dentist, two dental nurses, and a dental hygiene therapist. The practice has two treatment rooms.

The practice is owned by an individual who is the principal dentist there. The principal dentist has legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run.

During the inspection we spoke to the dentist and one of the dental nurses. We looked at practice policies and procedures, and other records about how the service is managed. We also reviewed the provider’s action plan and evidence sent to us to support the action plan. We found this contained insufficient information to identify to CQC how the provider planned to comply with the regulations.

The practice is open:

Monday to Thursday 9.00am to 5.00pm

Friday 9.00am to 1.00pm.

Our key findings were:

  • Appropriate medical emergencies medicines and equipment were available.
  • The provider had obtained all the necessary information in relation to staff recruitment procedures.
  • The provider had not taken full account of the current X-ray guidelines when providing patients’ care and treatment.
  • Staff training was not effectively monitored to ensure staff had completed recommended training.
  • The provider had systems in place to manage risk. Some of these had been improved, but others were not operating effectively.

We identified a regulation the provider was continuing not to meet. They must:

  • Establish effective systems and processes to ensure good governance in accordance with the fundamental standards of care.

Full details of the regulation the provider was not meeting are at the end of this report.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 23 December 2019


Effective

No action required

Updated 23 December 2019

Caring

No action required

Updated 23 December 2019

Responsive

No action required

Updated 23 December 2019

Well-led

Improvements required

Updated 23 December 2019