You are here

The Third Space Medicine Limited

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 14 March 2019

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 29 January 2019 to ask the service the following key questions; Are services safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this service was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services effective?

We found that this service was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services caring?

We found that this service was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services responsive?

We found that this service was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found that this service was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We carried out this inspection under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. This inspection was planned to check whether the practice was meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Health and Social Care Act 2008.

CQC inspected the service on 27 and 29 March 2018 and asked the provider to make improvements regarding safe care and treatment. Specifically, to ensure staff had received the appropriate level of safeguarding training, the calibration of clinical equipment, the availability of paediatric equipment, and access to historical training and recruitment documents. We checked these areas as part of this comprehensive inspection on 29 January 2019 and found the provider had made most of the necessary improvements.

The Third Space Medicine is an independent medical practice located in Soho in the London Borough of Westminster. The practice offers services for adults and children.

Seven people provided feedback about the service. All feedback we received was positive about the service.

Our key findings were:

  • There were systems and processes in place to keep patients safe and safeguarded from abuse. Although some improvements were needed in respect of monitoring the safety of equipment and the monitoring of infection control processes.
  • Quality improvement activity was used to review the effectiveness and appropriateness of the care provided. The practice ensured that care and treatment was delivered according to
  • evidence-based guidelines.
  • Staff had been trained to carry out their roles and had received regular annual appraisals.
  • Staff involved and treated patients with compassion, kindness, dignity and respect.
  • There was a system in place to gather and act on feedback from patients. Information about services and how to complain was available.
  • Governance and oversight had improved.

There were areas where the provider could make improvements and should:

  • Review the systems for maintaining and calibrating all equipment according to manufacturers’ instructions.
  • Review the processes for assessing and auditing the risk of, and preventing, detecting and controlling the spread of, infections.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 14 March 2019

Effective

Updated 14 March 2019

Caring

Updated 14 March 2019

Responsive

Updated 14 March 2019

Well-led

Updated 14 March 2019